- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bay’s Tale of the Whale

Posted By Joe Haggerty On September 28, 2008 @ 6:15 pm In General | No Comments

Here’s a little baseball/hockey cross-promotional nugget given the fact that I cover both Boston baseball and hockey in my little sports journalism world. Any time there’s a Canadian on the Red Sox [1] roster, any idle conversation I have with them usually turns to pucks at some point — and Sox left fielder Jason Bay [2] is no different. Bay is a native of Trail, British Columbia and I naturally assumed, before talking to him about the game on the frozen sheet, that he was likely a big Canucks fan and that maybe he was a charter member of the Cam Neely [3] Fan Club. Natural for a guy from B.C., ne-c’est, pas?

While Bay admitted his dad, David, was a Big Boston Bruins [4] fan going back to the days of Bobby Orr [5] and that fascination continued through the days of Neely and Ray Bourque [6], Jason proudly trumpeted the Hartford Whalers as his favorite team. That’s right: the Whale. Former Whalers forward Ray Ferraro is also a native of Trail, a fishing town of about 8,000 people, and all the kids in the town grew up idolizing Ferraro and therefore followed the travails of the Whale. Bay was 12 years-old when Ferraro finally shed the Green, Blue and White Whalers sweater in a trade for New York Islanders [7] D-man Doug Crossman midway through the 1990-91 season after six plus seasons proudly donning the Whale-Tail.

“Trail is a pretty small place and Ray was having some of his big years with Hartford when I was growing up, so just about everybody in my hometown was a Whalers fan,” said Bay, who is also lifelong friends with Edmonton Oilers [8] center Shawn Horcoff. “What is that song they play at the games…Brass Bonanza? Yeah, I got a kick out of that the first time I heard them playing it at Fenway Park [9].”

Bay never made it cross-country to the Hartford Civic Center for a game before the Whale morphed into a Hurricane, but he is hoping to get to a Bruins game at some point this season before returning home to Canada for the off-season. So if you happen to see a random Ray Ferraro Whalers sweater at a B’s game this winter, look a little more closely to see if it’s British Columbia’s best baseball player.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2008/09/28/bays-tale-of-the-whale/

URLs in this post:

[1] Red Sox: http://media.weei.com/baseball/boston-red-sox.htm

[2] Jason Bay: http://media.weei.com/baseball/jason-bay.htm

[3] Cam Neely: http://media.weei.com/hockey/cam-neely.htm

[4] Boston Bruins: http://media.weei.com/hockey/boston-bruins.htm

[5] Bobby Orr: http://media.weei.com/hockey/bobby-orr.htm

[6] Ray Bourque: http://media.weei.com/hockey/ray-bourque.htm

[7] New York Islanders: http://media.weei.com/hockey/new-york-islanders.htm

[8] Edmonton Oilers: http://media.weei.com/hockey/edmonton-oilers.htm

[9] Fenway Park: http://media.weei.com/baseball/fenway-park.htm

[10] > Bay’s Tale of the Whale" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2008/09/28/bays-tale-of-the-whale/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.