- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Shootin’ at the shootout

Posted By Joe Haggerty On October 23, 2008 @ 2:34 pm In General | 1 Comment

Since we’ve been discussing the shootouts so much, here’s last season’s shooting percentages and success rate for each of the Bruins players heading into tonight’s match-up with the Maple Leafs — if it should get to that point.

As an aside, there’s a strong Pucks with Haggs vote to put another team in the Toronto-area — as the reports have stated [1] – to go along with the Maple Leafs. Hamilton would be perfect place and was the desired target if the Nashville Predators [2] ended up moving, but any team that returns back into the motherland of Canada is a good thing for hockey and the NHL [3]. Winnipeg and Quebec City would also be great places to relocate some of these warmer climate teams from the US that simply have never seemed like a good fit (Hello Nashville!) for a frozen sheet. Anyway, here are the B’s shootout stats from last season:

Phil Kessel [4] — 5 scores in 13 tries for a 38.5 percent success rate. The five shootout scores were the third-most in the NHL [5] least season and a clear indicator that this is a speciality for a guy with the hockey skills to pay the bills (for his career, Kessel is 10-for-23 with a 43.5 success rate with nine game-deciding scores).

Zdeno Chara [6] — 1 for 2 for a 50 percent success rate, with the successful attempt a memorable wind-up slapper against the New York Rangers [7] at the Garden last season (2-for-5 career for a 40 percent success rate).

David Krejci [8] — 1 for 5 for a 20 percent success rate. Krejci is a guy that could be a future weapon in the shootout, and has already scored this season as well (and 2-for-7 career for a 28.6 percent success rate).

Marco Sturm [9] — 1 for 8 for a 12.5 percent success rate (7-for-25 career for a 28 percent success rate).

Patrice Bergeron [10] — 0 for 1 (8-for-24 career for a career 33.3 percent success rate).

Dennis Wideman [11] — 0 for 1 (2-for-8 with a career 25 percent success rate).

Chuck Kobasew [12] — 0 for 3 (and 0-for-8 in his career, perhaps it’s time to hang up his skates during the shootout).

Michael Ryder [13] — 0 for 1 (and 1-for-11 with a career 9.1 percent success rate). Ryder’s numbers in the shootout actually makes it a real head-scratcher as to why Claude Julien [14] opted to put him in the top three during Boston’s first two shootout losses this season.

Marc Savard [15] — a career 2-for-12 with a 16.7 percent success rate.

P.J. Axelsson — 0-for-3 career in the shootout.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2008/10/23/shootin-at-the-shootout/

URLs in this post:

[1] as the reports have stated: http://www.theglobeandmail.com/servlet/story/RTGAM.20081020.shoalts21/BNStory/National/home

[2] Nashville Predators: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nashville-predators.htm

[3] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[4] Phil Kessel: http://media.weei.com/hockey/phil-kessel.htm

[5] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl-hockey.htm

[6] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[7] New York Rangers: http://media.weei.com/hockey/new-york-rangers.htm

[8] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[9] Marco Sturm: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marco-sturm.htm

[10] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[11] Dennis Wideman: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-wideman.htm

[12] Chuck Kobasew: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chuck-kobasew.htm

[13] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[14] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[15] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[16] > Shootin’ at the shootout" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2008/10/23/shootin-at-the-shootout/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[17]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.