- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins’ pace of scoring

Posted By Joe Haggerty On December 15, 2008 @ 8:18 am In General | No Comments

Though it’s starting to seem more like a MASH unit than a hockey team, injuries haven’t stopped the brazen Bruins from streaking on a number of different fronts. The Back in Black B’s have won 11 straight games within the friendly confines of the TD Banknorth Garden [1], Phil Kessel [2] has grown into one of the most dangerous scorers in all of the NHL [3] and posted  at least one point in an NHL-best 15 straight games, and veteran netminder Manny Fernandez [4] has emerged from Tim Thomas [5]‘ shadow to win eight straight games.

One has to wonder when some of the myriad injuries will seriously affect a B’s train that just keeps on rollin’, but — in the even better news department — coach Claude Julien [6] is optimistic that Marco Sturm [7] might be available later on this week.

“[Aaron] Ward [8], lower body, he’€™s still day-to-day.  [Marco] Sturm, upper body, he’€™s actually, yeah, we know about Sturm, but again, my comment with him would be ‘€˜cautiously optimistic’€™ because it was very good [Saturday]. It was even better than [Friday], and you’€™ve heard me say that many times, but unfortunately with those injuries there’€™s sometimes setbacks, but I’€™m going to say cautiously optimistic and he’€™s heading in the right direction,” said Julien. “[He’€™s on the LTIR right now] because, dating it back to when it happened, he’€™s still good for Thursday.  It’€™s the month.  It’€™s just the, I guess you’€™ll call it paperwork.  Nokie [Petteri Nokelainen], upper body.”

The Nokelainen injury could keep the Finnish forward out of the lineup for a week or longer, according to Bruins coach Claude Julien, but Spoked B keeps turning and winning.

Since the Bruins continue to win and ring up points on an incredibly consistent basis, I figured now would be a good time to project some of the current offensive numbers over the course of an entire 82-game regular season. Here it goes along with a brief note for each player that’s been a major factor this season:

Marc Savard [9] (22 goals, 71 assists for 93 points): Savard was on a pace to top 100 points for the first time in his career until going through a bit of a quiet stretch as of late. His current pace is right in line with the rest of his assist-crazy career, but the whopping +46 he’s on pace for would be the stat to focus on when it comes to the nifty centerman.

Phil Kessel (52 goals, 33 assists for 85 points): By far the biggest jump on the team for the Bruins, as he went from solid 40 point threat to bona fide sniper in his third NHL [10] season. Kessel has been deadly on the power play and is on pace to bank 16 power play tallies this season. Would be the first 50 goal scorer for Boston since a guy named Cam Neely [11] if he can stay consistent.

David Krejci [12] (22 goals, 57 assists for 79 points): Krejci has stepped up to give the Black and Gold the kind of strength up the middle at the center position that teams can only dream of. As good as he’s been through the first portion of the season, there’s always the back-of-your-mind feeling that he can be even better than he’s already been. When he unleashes it, the young center has a blistering shot to go along with his keen instincts.

Michael Ryder [13] (27 goals, 30 assists for 57 points): Wasn’t it just a few weeks ago that the Greek Chorus was bemoaning Ryder’s inability to live up the free agent contract he signed before the season because he is…like…here to score goals. Well, the critics have curbed their song of woe as Ryder continues to score goals in a big bunch. In seemingly no time at all Ryder has risen to second on the team with 10 goals scored this season.

Milan Lucic [14] (25 goals, 33 assists for 58 points): Looch had stated that his offensive goal this season was to score between 20-30 goals in addition to his typical game of intimidation and rough stuff. For a 20-year-old left winger still learning his craft, a 50 plus point season would represent a quantum leap forward for the big left winger.

Dennis Wideman [15] (19 goals, 30 assists for 49 points): The 25-year-old blueliner has finally arrived at a development spot where people aren’t bringing up Brad Boyes anymore. Many now realize that a legit puck-moving defenseman is worth the same as a potential 40 goal scorer. Wideman is on pace for career-highs in nearly every category while Boyes is on his way to a big minus number with the Blues this season.

Patrice Bergeron [16] (11 goals, 36 assists for 47 points): Bergeron has definitely started out of gate slowly for the Bruins after missing nearly all of last season with a horrific concussion, but he still brings value with his hockey smarts, faceoff ability and defensive responsibility. If he ever gets it going circa 2005-06, this team will be extremely tough to stop.

Blake Wheeler [17] (25 goals, 22 assists for 47 points): The rookie is already ahead of schedule, so numbers like these would be gravy. It isn’t unrealistic to expect his scoring pace to improve as the season goes on — provided he can sidestep the rookie wall he’s sure to run head-long into — if he keeps developing and keeps it in his mind to shoot the puck more.  He’s on a pace for a +49 this season, which is a testament to the responsible two-way hockey he’s played as a 22-year-old rookie.

Zdeno Chara [18] (16 goals and 25 assists for 41 points): Big Z is another player like Bergeron that hasn’t had the best start to his season despite the team’s success, and his slow beginning is also attributable to injury: Chara had surgery to repair a torn labrum after last season. Despite all of the injury talk with Chara, however, the towering blueliner is still averaging a team-best 25:50 of ice time.

Chuck Kobasew [19] (14 goals and 25 assists for 39 points): Kobasew missed the first part of the season after taking a shot off the leg, but has averaged nearly a point per game since his return. Kobasew should easily surpass his projected numbers if he can remain injury-free — a question mark given the rugged way he plays the game of hockey at a relatively small 6-foot and 195 pounds.

Matt Hunwick (8 goals and 30 assists for 38 points): 14 points and a +14 in only 18 games played? Things are looking very promising for the 23-year-old Michigan native, and the quick-skating, puck-moving defenseman could be a member of the Bruins blueline corps for a good long time. What a revelation…he saved this team once injuries hit the blueline.

Marco Sturm (16 goals and 16 assists for 32 points): Sturm got off to a slow start and is now being slowed by a concussion/neck injury that’s caused him to miss 11 straight games. It’s beginning to look like a bit of a lost season for the 30-year-old German winger, but that can certainly change with a healthy, happy second half of the season.

Stephane Yelle (11 goals and 14 assists for 25 points): The 34-year-old center has been a perfect addition at a bargain basement price by GM Peter Chiarelli. Solid on faceoffs once he read the tendencies of his Eastern Conference opponents and invaluable on a much-improved PK unit, Yelle — while no threat for the Hart Trophy — and the intangibles he brings to the table have been everything the Bruins were hoping for.

P.J. Axelsson (3 goals and 19 assists for 22 points): While Axelsson is known for his defensive game and skating ability, the 33-year-old Swede has also potted double-digit goal totals over the last three seasons. It’s been an uncharacteristic slow start for Axy and he’s on pace to be a -14 for the season, but he did register a huge shootout goal against the Blackhawks earlier this season. Amazing that it took 24 games for Axelsson to register his first goal.

Andrew Ference [20] (0 goals and 19 assists for 19 points): The 29-year-old was on pace for his best NHL season when he went down with a broken tibia and he won’t be back until January. Ference’s veteran savvy, grit and experience will be beneficial when the Bruins get to the playoffs. Hunwick has stepped in ably when injuries mounted, but the Bruins will need Ference when the going gets tough.

Shane Hnidy (3 goals and 11 assists for 14 points): The 33-year-old is another Bruins player that is in line to have a career year, and the +30 pace that he’s on would blow away his career-best. Hnidy may see his minutes dwindle once both Ference and Ward return to the fold, but he’s been a solid cog in the blueline corps.

Mark Stuart [21] (8 goals and 5 assists for 13 points): A true stay-at-home defenseman that’s perfected the art of the forearm shiver in his own zone. The 24-year-old has a good, hard shot from the point when he has a chance to utilize it and brings a unique skill set and physical bent to the B’s blueline corps.

Shawn Thornton [22] (3 goals and 8 assists for 11 points): Thornton’s value is in areas that can’t be measured by statistics, but the 31-year-old has never reached double-digit totals in any season during his five-year career. The fearless winger gives the Bruins team much of its courage and sets the tone by always watching the backs of his teammates. He’s on a pace for 169 penalty minutes, which would easily be a career-high.

Aaron Ward [23] (0 goals and 8 assists for 8 points): Ward and Stuart have many of the same skills, but the 35-year-old also obviously brings a degree of leadership and Stanley Cup [24] experience that many on this young team simply don’t have. Ward is another vital cog once this team reaches the “tournament”

Petteri Nokelainen (0 goals and 3 assists for 3 points): The 22-year-old would like to score some goals to go along with his fourth line duties, but he’s a solid energy forward with excellent faceoff abilities if/when Yelle is tossed out of the dot. One other little tidbit: Nokie leads the Bruins in penalties drawn this season with an amazing 10 in his limited playing time [25]on the fourth line. A testament to how much grit and smarts the youngster plays with.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2008/12/15/bruins-pace-of-scoring/

URLs in this post:

[1] TD Banknorth Garden: http://media.weei.com/basketball/td-banknorth-garden.htm

[2] Phil Kessel: http://media.weei.com/hockey/phil-kessel.htm

[3] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[4] Manny Fernandez: http://media.weei.com/hockey/manny-fernandez.htm

[5] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[6] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[7] Marco Sturm: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marco-sturm.htm

[8] Aaron] Ward: http://media.weei.com/hockey/aaron-ward.htm

[9] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[10] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl-hockey.htm

[11] Cam Neely: http://media.weei.com/hockey/cam-neely.htm

[12] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[13] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[14] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[15] Dennis Wideman: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-wideman.htm

[16] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[17] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[18] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[19] Chuck Kobasew: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chuck-kobasew.htm

[20] Andrew Ference: http://media.weei.com/hockey/andrew-ference.htm

[21] Mark Stuart: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-stuart.htm

[22] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[23] Aaron Ward: http://media.weei.com/hockey/aaron-ward-hockey.htm

[24] Stanley Cup: http://media.weei.com/hockey/stanley-cup.htm

[25] amazing 10 in his limited playing time : http://www.behindthenet.ca/2008/5_on_5_pens.php?sort=8&mingp=&mintoi=10

[26] > Bruins’ pace of scoring" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2008/12/15/bruins-pace-of-scoring/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[27]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.