- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

“More important than everyone thinks…”

Posted By Mike Petraglia On January 8, 2009 @ 9:12 pm In General | No Comments

Bruins coach Claude Julien [1] wanted to drill a real simple message into his team prior to its game with the Ottawa Senators [2] Thursday night. Don’t let a two-game losing skid reach three.

He began preaching this on Wednesday morning at practice. He continued this through the morning skate on Thursday and preached it during the game as he watched his team lose a 3-1 lead to the lowly Ottawa Senators and head into the third period tied, 3-3.

But the switch turned on during the second intermission. The Bruins got goals from David Krejci [3], Marc Savard [4] and P.J. Axelsson as they outscored the Senators, 3-1, in the final 20 minutes to skate off with a 6-4 victory.

“This was a very important game, more important than everyone thinks,” said Bruins captain Zdeno Chara [5]. “It’s kind of a situation where you lose a couple of games, the team starts questioning the talent, the play. I think at some points it’s okay to face adversity but also we have to believe we’re a good team.”

Adversity is what the Bruins faced following a 4-2 loss to Buffalo on Saturday and a 1-0 clunker on Tuesday against Minnesota.

“It was either stop the hemorrhaging and continue the slide,” added coach Claude Julien. “You lose three in a row, your confidence takes an even bigger beating. Losing this game would have certainly hurt us a lot more than we think and winning it might hopefully be what we need to get back to our game.”

With Milan Lucic [6] and Shane Hnidy out with injuries, Aaron Ward’s first goal of the season and Chuck Kobasew’s seventh have helped the B’s pick up the slack and take a 2-0 first-period lead. The highlight of the opening period was a knock-down, drag ‘em out bare-fisted brawl between Shawn Thornton [7] and Ottawa’s Chris Neil.

While Julien loved the energy of Thornton, he didn’t like his team’s response.

‘€œI thought our first six minutes was pretty good,” Julien said. “I thought that after the fight, Thorny stood in there and did a good job. We didn’€™t respond. They did. If you look at the second period, a lot of bad mistakes.’€

Mistakes that resulted in two Ottawa goals and a 3-3 game after two. But still, the Bruins showed the kind of resiliency that teams with 30 wins halfway through an NHL [8] season show.

‘€œWe’€™re at a stage right now where we’€™re highly critical of our team because of what we’€™ve accomplished so far. We’€™ve got some guys right now who are underperforming,’€ said the coach.

One of those NOT underperforming is Manny Fernandez [9]. He has shown why the Bruins acquired him before the 2007-08 season from the Minnesota Wild [10]. There was some discussion as to who would start the game as Fernandez had an extra-long skate in the morning but he came out and started for the Bruins.

Martins Karsums was recalled on an emergency basis for tonight’s game at TD Banknorth Garden [11]. The move was presumably in the event Stephane Yelle couldn’t go with flu-like symptoms. The Bruins are 2-2 so far on their season-long six-game homestand, which continues on Saturday against Carolina at 1 p.m.

‘€œTo win itself, was important but the way we won it wasn’€™t so good,” Julien concluded. “We’€™ve got a lot of things right now that are challenging us. Some of our better players are struggling right now, trying to find their groove.’€


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/01/08/bruins-senators-more-important-than-everyone-thinks/

URLs in this post:

[1] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[2] Ottawa Senators: http://media.weei.com/hockey/ottawa-senators.htm

[3] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[4] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[5] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[6] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[7] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[8] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[9] Manny Fernandez: http://media.weei.com/hockey/manny-fernandez.htm

[10] Minnesota Wild: http://media.weei.com/hockey/minnesota-wild.htm

[11] TD Banknorth Garden: http://media.weei.com/basketball/td-banknorth-garden.htm

[12] > “More important than everyone thinks…”" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/01/08/bruins-senators-more-important-than-everyone-thinks/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[13]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.