- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Tuukka Time

Posted By Joe Haggerty On January 10, 2009 @ 11:09 am In General | No Comments

Boston Bruins [1] General Manager Peter Chiarelli announced today that the club has recalled goaltender Tuukka Rask [2] from the Providence Bruins on an emergency basis. Rask was called up this morning because goalie Manny Fernandez [3] is dealing with an undisclosed “issue”. Tim Thomas [4] will get the start in net this afternoon.

“Tuukka [Rask] has come in to be a backup, and he is going to be replacing Manny,” said B’s coach Claude Julien [5] prior to this afternoon’s game. “With [Fernandez] it’s just a minor thing. It’s really a day-to-day kind of thing. It was actually a last minute call up. Probably about nine o’clock this morning.”

Rask will join the team today and be available for this afternoon’s game against the Carolina Hurricanes [6]. This is his first recall to Boston this season.

Rask has started 30 games this season for Providence and has posted a 17-13-0 record with a 2.42 Goals Against Average and .919 save percentage, including a 4-1 win over Bridgeport last night. His 17 victories are the second most in the AHL. Rask played in four games last year for Boston and registered a 2-1-1 record, with his first NHL [7] game and first NHL [8] victory coming on November 20, 2007 in a 4-2 win at Toronto. He was recalled on four occasions last season and dressed as a backup for 16 games while playing in four.

In his first professional season last year with Providence, he compiled a 27-13-2 record and a 2.33 Goals Against Average and helped lead the P-Bruins to the best regular season record in the AHL.

Originally drafted by the Toronto Maple Leafs [9] in the first round (21st overall) of the 2005 NHL Entry Draft, the 21-year-old Rask was acquired by the Bruins on June 24, 2006 in exchange for goaltender Andrew Raycroft.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/01/10/tuukka-time/

URLs in this post:

[1] Boston Bruins: http://media.weei.com/hockey/boston-bruins.htm

[2] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[3] Manny Fernandez: http://media.weei.com/hockey/manny-fernandez.htm

[4] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[5] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[6] Carolina Hurricanes: http://media.weei.com/hockey/carolina-hurricanes.htm

[7] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[8] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl-hockey.htm

[9] Toronto Maple Leafs: http://media.weei.com/hockey/toronto-maple-leafs.htm

[10] > Tuukka Time" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/01/10/tuukka-time/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.