- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Caps lead the Bruins, 2-1, after one period of play

Posted By Joe Haggerty On January 27, 2009 @ 7:36 pm In General | No Comments

Goals by old friend Michael Nylander and young defenseman Mike Green [1] have the Capitals up by a 2-1 score after the first twenty minutes of play. Nylander potted a garbage goal in front in the final seconds of the first period when Tomas Fleischmann kicked the puck to him at the goal mouth. The Caps hold a 2-1 lead after one period of play.

Bruins goaltender Tim Thomas [2] did his best to try and hold them back, but the high-powered Washington Capitals [3] cashed in and drew first blood against the B’s. Just seconds after the Bruins killed off a Marc Savard [4] penalty, Mike Green took a feed from Russian winger Alex Ovechkin [5] and scored on a bomb from the high point just 2:08 into the game. Shawn Thornton [6] tied things up with 9:26 left when he picked off an errant puck and lifted a beauty of a backhanded past Caps goalie Jose Theodore.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/01/27/bs-and-caps-locked-into-1-1-tie-at-the-garden/

URLs in this post:

[1] Mike Green: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mike-green.htm

[2] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[3] Washington Capitals: http://media.weei.com/hockey/washington-capitals.htm

[4] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[5] Alex Ovechkin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/alex-ovechkin.htm

[6] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[7] > Caps lead the Bruins, 2-1, after one period of play" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/01/27/bs-and-caps-locked-into-1-1-tie-at-the-garden/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.