- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Sounds of the game… Bruins 1, Rangers 0

Posted By Mike Petraglia On January 31, 2009 @ 5:17 pm In General | No Comments

Marc Savard [1], Saturday’s lone goal scorer in a tight 1-0 Bruins win over the Rangers at TD Banknorth Garden [2], said it was just like a playoff game.

Aaron Ward [3] said both teams played the game like it was the playoffs.

And head coach Claude Julien [4] said his team got contributions all around.

The couple of hundred blueshirts (that’s New York-speak for Rangers fans) in attendance didn’t have much to cheer about all afternoon in a game that was void of much offensive action. The perfect game for Tuukka Rask [5] to give Tim Thomas [6] a rest between the pipes since Thomas is expect to start Sunday afternoon in Montreal.

And Rask was perfect, stopping all 35 Rangers shots to record his first career shutout.

Claude Julien said Marc Savard gave the team the lift they needed late in the second [7].

Julien said it was a complete team effort to shut out New York [8].

Julien was very happy for Rask [9].

Julien said Thomas needed a break [10].

Julien said Rask can still grow as a hockey player [11].

Rangers goalie Henrik Lunqvist said Savard deserves props for a nice re-direct on the goal [12].

Rangers center Chris Drury said they didn’t put enough pressure on Rask [13].


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/01/31/boston-bruins-new-york-rangers-tuukka-rask-marc-savard-chris-drury-henrik-lundqvist-sounds-of-the-game-bruins-1-rangers-0/

URLs in this post:

[1] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[2] TD Banknorth Garden: http://media.weei.com/basketball/td-banknorth-garden.htm

[3] Aaron Ward: http://media.weei.com/hockey/aaron-ward.htm

[4] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[5] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[6] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[7] Claude Julien said Marc Savard gave the team the lift they needed late in the second: http://blogs.weei.com/?attachment_id=12571

[8] Julien said it was a complete team effort to shut out New York: http://blogs.weei.com/?attachment_id=12572

[9] Julien was very happy for Rask: http://blogs.weei.com/?attachment_id=12573

[10] Julien said Thomas needed a break: http://blogs.weei.com/?attachment_id=12575

[11] Julien said Rask can still grow as a hockey player: http://blogs.weei.com/?attachment_id=12574

[12] Rangers goalie Henrik Lunqvist said Savard deserves props for a nice re-direct on the goal: http://blogs.weei.com/?attachment_id=12576

[13] Rangers center Chris Drury said they didn’t put enough pressure on Rask: http://blogs.weei.com/?attachment_id=12577

[14] > Sounds of the game… Bruins 1, Rangers 0" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/01/31/boston-bruins-new-york-rangers-tuukka-rask-marc-savard-chris-drury-henrik-lundqvist-sounds-of-the-game-bruins-1-rangers-0/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[15]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.