- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruised left foot for Milan Lucic

Posted By Joe Haggerty On February 6, 2009 @ 2:20 pm In General | No Comments

Bruins left winger Milan Lucic [1] was back at practice this afternoon and declared himself ready to play in tomorrow’s matinee against the Philadelphia Flyers [2]. Looch suffered a bruised left foot when he took a shot off his big dog in last Wednesday night’s tilt versus the Flyers in Philly. According to the hulking forward, he’s got a colorful and healthy bruise and some “purple toes” after taking a shot off the left foot near the skate’s lacing.

Lucic was trying to get a tip on a shot in front of the net at the time of the injury, but he missed the puck with his trusty blade and instead caught the speeding rubber biscuit flush off the front of his left foot.

“It’s good news,” said Lucic, who missed Thursday night’s game against the Senators with the injury. “I think we treated it right (Thursday) and today, and it looks like I’m going to be ready to play tomorrow.

“It’s the game of hockey; stuff like that happens all the time and you just have to be mentally strong and battle through it,” added Lucic. “I’ve got some nice purple toes. It looks funny right now, but it made a lot of progress from yesterday morning to last night.”

In other tidbits from practice:

Dennis Wideman [3] obviously isn’t a big listener to WEEI during the late morning and early afternoon hours, if at all. When I told him that he should tell Holley that he was a big fan of his “Holley Hockey Minute” when he gets on the air, Wideman replied without missing a beat: “Oh…you mean Holley isn’t a girl? That’s good to know.”

Aaron Ward [4] was down with the flu that’s been traveling around the Bruins club — and the Celtics [5] for that matter over the last week — and wasn’t at practice. Chuck Kobasew [6] was also given a maintenance day away from the ice by coach Claude Julien [7]Michael Ryder [8] was also given the day off after a high stick caught him in the face and cut him open during last night’s shootout win against Ottawa.

Julien and Manny Fernandez [9] also both revealed that physically he’s ready to jump back into game action, but it’s more a matter of getting a certain feel in net between the pipes after three weeks of inactivity.

“He’s feeling good and physically I think he’s 100 percent,” said Julien. “I think we made the right decision in doing what we did and letting him heal his aching back. That’s the main thing right now, so it’s just a matter now of spotting him in a situation when we feel that he feels he’s ready.”

It was a pretty good showing at practice this afternoon at the TD Banknorth Garden [10] given that B’s Media Relations maestro Matt Chmura estimated that the team finally got into Boston around 2:30 a.m. Friday morning.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/02/06/bruised-left-foot-for-milan-lucic/

URLs in this post:

[1] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[2] Philadelphia Flyers: http://media.weei.com/hockey/philadelphia-flyers.htm

[3] Dennis Wideman: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-wideman.htm

[4] Aaron Ward: http://media.weei.com/hockey/aaron-ward.htm

[5] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[6] Chuck Kobasew: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chuck-kobasew.htm

[7] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[8] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[9] Manny Fernandez: http://media.weei.com/hockey/manny-fernandez.htm

[10] TD Banknorth Garden: http://media.weei.com/basketball/td-banknorth-garden.htm

[11] > Bruised left foot for Milan Lucic" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/02/06/bruised-left-foot-for-milan-lucic/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.