- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Ference, Chara make personal donations for Right to Play

Posted By Joe Haggerty On February 23, 2009 @ 11:23 am In General | No Comments

The Right to Play is a charity organization that includes a heavy dose of Boston Bruins [1] involvement, as both Andrew Ference [2] and Zdeno Chara [3] have traveled over to Africa in the name of the Canadian organization. Twenty-two different NHL [4] players are donating something of their own to raise in the next week, and that includes Ference putting his own Harley Davidson on auction to raise funds. The coolest part: the player get to do in the name of someone they care about or admire.

No word on whether Big Z is going to donate the Right to Play yellow toque he was sporting when he reared back and fired the NHL hardest slap shot during All-Star weekend in Montreal last month. Here’s the release from Right to Play:

Players from 22 National Hockey League [5] teams are showing their support for the international humanitarian organization Right To Play by making personal donations over the Feb. 27 ‘€“ March 1 weekend.

NHL superstars including Right To Play Athlete Ambassadors Alexander Ovechkin, Zdeno Chara, Joe Thornton [6] and Daniel Alfredsson [7] will be among at least 25 players donating to Right To Play based on minutes played in one of their team’€™s games Feb. 27 ‘€“ March 1. While players celebrate their ability to play a game they love, they will be making donations to Right To Play in honour of coaches or role models who instilled in them the positive values of sport and helped them succeed — not just in hockey, but in life.

Funds raised will support Right To Play’€™s sport and play programs in 23 countries of operation across Africa, Asia, the Middle East and South America. By training local community leaders as Coaches to deliver these programs, Right To Play provides similar growth opportunities and positive role models for 600,000 children in Right To Play activities every week.

‘€œWhen I visited Right To Play projects in Mozambique last summer, I saw what an incredible impact Right To Play Coaches are having on children’€™s lives,’€ said Boston Bruins captain Zdeno Chara. ‘€œI was inspired by their commitment and extremely impressed by the ability of just a few Coaches to create such happiness and amazing learning opportunities for literally hundreds of children. My father was a mentor for me and that is why I am honouring him with my donation. I know it is for an outstanding cause.’€

The Garth Brooks Teammates For Kids Foundation is also joining in the players’€™ support of Right To Play by matching donation contributions from Teammates For Kids ‘€˜Hockey Teammates’€™ up to $20,000.

In addition, players, teams, the NHL and NHL Players’€™ Association have all contributed to an online auction in benefit of Right To Play. The auction launches this evening at www.ebay.com/righttoplay [8]and is highlighted by a 1999 Harley-Davidson motorcycle donated by Boston Bruins defenseman Andrew Ference and a leather jacket from Deeley Harley-Davidson Canada.

Andrew’€™s video promoting the auction can be seen on the eBay site. Other items include a custom Steve Montador signature poker table, a signed 2009 ‘€˜West’€™ NHL All-Star Game sweater, game-used sticks from Daniel Alfredsson, Garnet Exelby and Manny Malhotra, an Alex Ovechkin-autographed Right To Play tracksuit, signed jerseys and other merchandise. The auction closes on March 1.

 ‘€œOn behalf of all the children in our programs and the volunteer Coaches who work with them, I want to thank these NHL players and the Garth Brooks Teammates for Kids Foundation for their outstanding leadership and support,’€ said Right To Play President and CEO Johann Koss. ‘€œThis initiative is a great example of what can be achieved when athletes rally together around the best values of sport and play.’€

Participating players are listed below and can also be found on a Coach Tribute Wall at righttoplay.ca or righttoplayusa.org. Fans are encouraged to join these NHL players by making online donations in honour of their own coaches or role models. For donations of $25 or more, donor and coach names will be inserted on the Coach Tribute Wall alongside the NHL players, and the donor will receive a personalized ‘€˜Coach Tribute’€™ via email as a special thank you.

Right To Play 2009 ‘€˜Donation for Minutes Weekend’€™ Participants

NHL Team Player Honoured Coach / Role Model Donation Game

Anaheim Ducks [9] Steve Montador/Gisele Bourgeois Feb. 28 at Dallas
 Chris Pronger [10]/Ollie Bon Jovi / Hummer Feb. 28 at Dallas
Atlanta Thrashers [11] Garnet Exelby Jude Boulianne Feb. 28 vs. Carolina
Boston Bruins Zdeno Chara/Zdenek Chara Feb. 28 vs. Washington
 Andrew Ference/Brent Peterson Feb. 28 vs. Washington
Calgary Flames [12] Robyn Regehr/All minor hockey coaches Feb. 27 vs. Minnesota
Chicago Blackhawks [13] Jonathan Toews/Thom Gross Feb. 27 vs. Pittsburgh
Columbus Blue Jackets [14] Manny Malhotra/Scott Sones/Rob Honighan March 1 at Vancouver
Edmonton Oilers [15] Ethan Moreau/Ab Moreau Feb. 28 vs. Minnesota
Florida Panthers [16] Jay Bouwmeester/Dan Bouwmeester Feb. 28 at New Jersey
 Greg Campbell/All minor hockey coaches Feb. 28 at New Jersey
Los Angeles Kings [17] Anze Kopitar/Matjaz Kopitar Feb. 27 at Detroit
Minnesota Wild [18] Nick Schultz Robert Schultz Feb. 27 at Calgary
Montreal Canadiens [19] Mike Komisarek/Aleksey Nikiforov Feb. 28 vs. San Jose
Nashville Predators [20] David Legwand/Dave and Carole Legwand Feb. 28 vs. Detroit
New York Islanders [21] Josh Bailey/Mickey Renaud Feb. 28 vs. Buffalo
New York Rangers [22] Wade Redden/Pat Redden Feb. 28 vs. Colorado
Ottawa Senators [23] Daniel Alfredsson/Hasse Alfredsson Feb. 28 vs. Toronto
Philadelphia Flyers [24] Mike Richards [25]/Mark Richards/Matt Richards Feb. 27 vs. Montreal
Pittsburgh Penguins [26] Eric Godard/Bill Higgins Feb. 27 at Chicago
San Jose Sharks [27] Joe Thornton/Brian Muscat Feb. 28 at Montreal
Tampa Bay Lightning [28] Matt Pettinger/Allan Neale Feb. 27 at Vancouver
Toronto Maple Leafs [29] Dominic Moore/Brad Selwood Feb. 28 at Ottawa
Vancouver Canucks [30] Kevin Bieksa/Scott Jess Feb. 27 vs. Tampa Bay
Washington Capitals [31] Alexander Ovechkin/Zinetulla Bilyaletdinov Feb. 28 at Boston
 
 About Right To Play
Right To Play is an international humanitarian organization that uses sport and play programs to improve health, develop life skills and foster peace for children and communities in some of the most disadvantaged areas of the world. Working in both the humanitarian and development context, Right To Play trains local community leaders as Coaches to deliver our programs in 23 countries affected by war, poverty and disease across Africa, Asia, the Middle East and South America. Right To Play is supported by an international team of top athletes from more than 40 countries. As role models, these athletes inspire children, raise awareness and promote opportunities for funding for Right To Play projects.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/02/23/ference-chara-make-personal-donations-for-right-to-play/

URLs in this post:

[1] Boston Bruins: http://media.weei.com/hockey/boston-bruins.htm

[2] Andrew Ference: http://media.weei.com/hockey/andrew-ference.htm

[3] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[4] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl-hockey.htm

[5] National Hockey League: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[6] Joe Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/joe-thornton.htm

[7] Daniel Alfredsson: http://media.weei.com/hockey/daniel-alfredsson.htm

[8] www.ebay.com/righttoplay: http://www.ebay.com/righttoplay

[9] Anaheim Ducks: http://media.weei.com/hockey/anaheim-ducks.htm

[10] Chris Pronger: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chris-pronger.htm

[11] Atlanta Thrashers: http://media.weei.com/hockey/atlanta-thrashers.htm

[12] Calgary Flames: http://media.weei.com/hockey/calgary-flames.htm

[13] Chicago Blackhawks: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chicago-blackhawks.htm

[14] Columbus Blue Jackets: http://media.weei.com/hockey/columbus-blue-jackets.htm

[15] Edmonton Oilers: http://media.weei.com/hockey/edmonton-oilers.htm

[16] Florida Panthers: http://media.weei.com/hockey/florida-panthers.htm

[17] Los Angeles Kings: http://media.weei.com/hockey/los-angeles-kings.htm

[18] Minnesota Wild: http://media.weei.com/hockey/minnesota-wild.htm

[19] Montreal Canadiens: http://media.weei.com/hockey/montreal-canadiens.htm

[20] Nashville Predators: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nashville-predators.htm

[21] New York Islanders: http://media.weei.com/hockey/new-york-islanders.htm

[22] New York Rangers: http://media.weei.com/hockey/new-york-rangers.htm

[23] Ottawa Senators: http://media.weei.com/hockey/ottawa-senators.htm

[24] Philadelphia Flyers: http://media.weei.com/hockey/philadelphia-flyers.htm

[25] Mike Richards: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mike-richards.htm

[26] Pittsburgh Penguins: http://media.weei.com/hockey/pittsburgh-penguins.htm

[27] San Jose Sharks: http://media.weei.com/hockey/san-jose-sharks.htm

[28] Tampa Bay Lightning: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tampa-bay-lightning.htm

[29] Toronto Maple Leafs: http://media.weei.com/hockey/toronto-maple-leafs.htm

[30] Vancouver Canucks: http://media.weei.com/hockey/vancouver-canucks.htm

[31] Washington Capitals: http://media.weei.com/hockey/washington-capitals.htm

[32] > Ference, Chara make personal donations for Right to Play" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/02/23/ference-chara-make-personal-donations-for-right-to-play/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[33]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.