- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

No place like home for the Boston Bruins

Posted By Joe Haggerty On February 25, 2009 @ 4:41 pm In General | No Comments

WILMINGTON — There’s no sense in clicking their hockey skates three times and chanting “There’s no place like home,” but the Black and Gold reached a welcomed portion of the schedule when they notched a victory over the Panthers Tuesday night. The tilt against the upwardly mobile Eastern Conference team was the first of six straight games at the Garden that will take the Bruins crew past the March 4 trade deadline and right on through a March 7 matinee against the Chicago Blackhawks [1].

It’s a mighty positive development for the Good Ship Bruins as the Spoked B play 14 of their final 21 games within the friendly, frozen confines, and have a chance to put themselves in a solid season-ending position with the right amount of energy, strength and determination.

The Big, Bad B’s are 20-4-4 in 28 games at the Vault on Causeway Street this season, and have been pretty successful at making life difficult for opponents inside the loud and rowdy Boston rink. It should be a fun next couple of weeks, as a young hockey club continues to get their groove back and readies themselves for a long run through the postseason. The next handful of games should start warming up the B’s crowd for the fever pitch expected once Lord Stanley’s playoff challenge begins.

Two guys home means quite a bit to: Milan Lucic [2] and Dennis Wideman [3]. Wideman has 18 points in 32 road games this season, but is nearly one point per game at the Garden (5 goals and 18 assists in 29 games) while Looch has 15 points in 29 road games as opposed to 8 goals and 11 assists in 24 home tilts this season.

“It was great for our team to be back (home),” said B’s coach Claude Julien [4]. “It was a tough road stretch and the fact that we were able to find our game a little bit was great. I think it was about getting out of our funk. Every team goes through that during the season at some point, and the good thing for us is to get out of it sooner rather than later as we head toward the end of the season.”

The B’s aren’t exactly chopped bratwurst on the road either, as the 21-8-4 record in hostile hockey territory would attest. But the first trip back to the Garden coincided with the B’s finally putting disciplined play, fearless ventures by the forwards into the goal area and the danger zones of the rink, aggressive support by the defensemen and normally solid goaltending into a once-again unbreakable chain.

It all starts on Thursday with a pretty stiff challenge against an Anaheim Ducks [5] squad that’s sitting squarely below the cusp of the last playoff spot in the Western Conference, and could start selling off valuable wares like Chris Pronger [6] and Scott Niedermayer if things don’t start improving. In other words, the B’s will be facing yet another talented hockey team filled with desperation while they protect the pole position in the East.

“The 50 or the 60 game mark is historically the toughest part (of the schedule), but at this point we’re over that and the last 20 games or so you start gearing up for the Big Push,” said tough guy Shawn Thornton [7], who participated in the ultimate “Big Push” when he was a member of the Ducks squad that won the Stanley Cup [8] back in the 2006-07 season. “I think we’re starting to feel that now. We had a little slide, but I think now we’re starting to back on track mentally and bringing it every night.”

There it is. The Boston Garden: where the Black and Gold “bring it” on a nightly basis.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/02/25/no-place-like-home-for-the-boston-bruins/

URLs in this post:

[1] Chicago Blackhawks: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chicago-blackhawks.htm

[2] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[3] Dennis Wideman: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-wideman.htm

[4] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[5] Anaheim Ducks: http://media.weei.com/hockey/anaheim-ducks.htm

[6] Chris Pronger: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chris-pronger.htm

[7] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[8] Stanley Cup: http://media.weei.com/hockey/stanley-cup.htm

[9] > No place like home for the Boston Bruins" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/02/25/no-place-like-home-for-the-boston-bruins/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.