- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

B’s and Caps tied at 2-2 after the second period

Posted By Joe Haggerty On February 28, 2009 @ 2:04 pm In General | 1 Comment

17:45 great sprawling save by Tim Thomas [1] in the opening minutes of the second period as Washington sniper Alex Semin waltzed through the traffic in front and fired a forehand bid.

14:20: solid back to back pad saves by Thomas after a nifty Ovechkin pass — a skill that is highly underrated in the Russian superstar’s game — freed Victor Kozlov in the high slot, and the big center took two shots at the Boston cage.¬†Thomas blocked the first one and then smothered Kozlov’s rebound attempt.

11:12: For the 45th time this season, Alex Ovechkin [2] fired up the red lamp when he fired a sizzling wrist shot past Tim Thomas to give the Caps a 2-1 lead.

9:06: The B’s stormed right back when Marc Savard [3] — with a Capitals defender draped all over him — found a wide open Phil Kessel [4] by the right faceoff circle, and Kessel flipped a shot through Jose Theodore’s five home to tie things up. The goal is Kessel’s 26th of the season and his second in his last four games.

7:23: Two great saves by Theodore, as he stoned Patrice Bergeron [5] on a one-time attempt from P.J. Axelsson and then blocked Bergeron’s backhanded rebound attempt.

7:00: Breakaway attempt for Caps center Brooks Laich, but Thomas closed up the pads and stoned his bid to tuck the puck between Timmy the goalie man’s pads.

00:25: Shawn Thornton [6] was denied on a rebound attempt from the slot that hopped right onto his stick. Another solid game for Boston’s fourth line against Washington today.

The B’s and Caps are tied¬†2-2 after two full periods of hockey in a potential Eastern Conference final matcup between the two best teams in the East.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/02/28/bs-and-caps-tied-at-1-1-in-the-second-period/

URLs in this post:

[1] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[2] Alex Ovechkin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/alex-ovechkin.htm

[3] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[4] Phil Kessel: http://media.weei.com/hockey/phil-kessel.htm

[5] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[6] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[7] > B’s and Caps tied at 2-2 after the second period" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/02/28/bs-and-caps-tied-at-1-1-in-the-second-period/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.