- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Fortunate bounce off Wideman gives Caps a 3-2 lead

Posted By Joe Haggerty On February 28, 2009 @ 2:57 pm In General | No Comments

17:40: Power play score for Thomas Fleischmann — with David Krejci [1] off for hooking — as he carried the puck in the corner and flipped it toward the front of the net. The biscuit bounced off Dennis Wideman’s left skate and ricocheted right past Tim Thomas [2].

15:30: Two great saves on a breakaway bid by Eric Fehr, with Thomas closing up the pads on the initial five hole attempt, and then dropping into a butterful fly split to kick away the rebound attempt. I shudder to think what would happen if I attempted a move like that.

12:45: Great shift for the Krejci/Wheeler/Ryder line, which has really bounced back to midseason form. Krejci hit the left post with a shot from all alone in the slot with a wide open net on the first attempt, and then flipped it just over the crossbar on a rebound of a Blake Wheeler [3] bid just seconds later. The effort did draw a cross-checking penalty from Washington’s Matt Bradley.

10:58: Great individual PK work by Alexander Semin allows him to break in for a one man rush, and induces Dennis Wideman [4] into a hooking penalty that wipes out Boston’s PP and will put the electric Capitals power play unit back on the ice.

8:58: The Black and Gold did everything but score on their powe play attempt. Chuck Kobasew [5], Patrice Bergeron [6], Dennis Wideman among others had great scoring bids, the Theodore and collapsing Caps PK were able to withstand the barrage.

5:08: An interference call on Nicklas Backstrom amidst some heavy Bruins pressure will give the Black and Gold at least one more PP attempt while still down a goal.

4:37: A great shot fake and then dish from Patrice Bergeron at the high point set up a Zdeno Chara [7] blast from the left faceoff circle that beat Theodore on the short side. A big power play strike for the B’s in the waning moments. The timely goal is the 100th of Big Z’s career.

The Capitals and Bruins are tied at 3-3 with 3:20 left to go in the third period of an excellent playoff-atmosphere style game at the TD Banknorth Garden [8].


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/02/28/fortunate-bounce-off-wideman-gives-caps-a-3-2-lead/

URLs in this post:

[1] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[2] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[3] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[4] Dennis Wideman: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-wideman.htm

[5] Chuck Kobasew: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chuck-kobasew.htm

[6] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[7] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[8] TD Banknorth Garden: http://media.weei.com/basketball/td-banknorth-garden.htm

[9] > Fortunate bounce off Wideman gives Caps a 3-2 lead" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/02/28/fortunate-bounce-off-wideman-gives-caps-a-3-2-lead/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.