- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Lucic a “possibility” for Tuesday night vs. the Flyers

Posted By Joe Haggerty On March 2, 2009 @ 12:55 pm In General | No Comments

WILMINGTON — With the trade deadline approaching on Wednesday afternoon at 3 p.m., much of the discussion at practice this morning centered around the Bruins names bandied about in trade rumors and purported proposals.

More on that later, but B’s coach Claude Julien [1] did announce after practice that Milan Lucic [2], out with an “upper body injury” suffered against the Anaheim Ducks [3] on Thursday night, is a possibility for Tuesday night’s tilt against the Philadelphia Flyers [4] at the TD Banknorth Garden [5].  Speculation has been pushed out there that Lucic either injured his right hand pounding the living daylights of Ducks forward Mike Brown’s helmet, or perhaps suffered a jaw injury/minor concussion when Brown snuck in a quick first punch on the chin of the Big Looch.

Lucic was wearing the red non-contact jersey at practice, but did take part in some pretty rigorous skating drills designed to get the heart rate up — a sign that the injury might not be related to his banged up right hand.

Matt Hunwick again skated in Looch’s place along the first line with Marc Savard [6] and Phil Kessel [7] during practice, and could play forward again tomorrow if Looch isn’t ready to go.

–Petteri Nokelainen also donned the red non-contact sweater for the snowy afternoon practice, and Julien indicated that the Finnish forward will be meeting with doctors on Tuesday to get clearance for contact during practice. Nokelainen has been out nearly a month after suffering a high stick to the right eye against the San Jose Sharks [8] back on Feb. 10.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/03/02/lucic-a-possibility-for-tuesday-night-vs-the-flyers/

URLs in this post:

[1] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[2] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[3] Anaheim Ducks: http://media.weei.com/hockey/anaheim-ducks.htm

[4] Philadelphia Flyers: http://media.weei.com/hockey/philadelphia-flyers.htm

[5] TD Banknorth Garden: http://media.weei.com/basketball/td-banknorth-garden.htm

[6] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[7] Phil Kessel: http://media.weei.com/hockey/phil-kessel.htm

[8] San Jose Sharks: http://media.weei.com/hockey/san-jose-sharks.htm

[9] > Lucic a “possibility” for Tuesday night vs. the Flyers" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/03/02/lucic-a-possibility-for-tuesday-night-vs-the-flyers/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.