- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Red-hot Bergeron puts Bruins on top with power play strike

Posted By Joe Haggerty On March 3, 2009 @ 7:22 pm In General | No Comments

Interesting news out of Toronto that both Crimson maffia member Dominic Moore and 6-foot-6 Nik Antropov aren’t dressing for the Maple Leafs [1] the night prior to the NHL [2] trade deadline, but tonight is all about the Bruins/Flyers action at the TD Banknorth Garden [3].

There was a quick scrum just minutes into the game between the two hard-nosed hockey clubs, and it didn’t take long for Zdeno Chara [4] to dump Flyers forward Mike Richards [5] to the ground during a quick dump in attempt.

15:15: the B’s had the first power play opportunity and looked sharp on the man advantage, with the B’s almost scoring on a Chuck Kobasew [6] rebound attempt from the slot area.

8:06: Breathtaking save by Antero Nittymaki on a David Krejci [7] forehand attempt from the doorstep. Krejci picked up the puck and tossed it airborne, but Nittymaki was able to snatch the puck out of the air and take away a certain Bruins goal.

5:36: Patrice Bergeron [8] continues to make a second half resurgance, and put the B’s on the board first with a sizzling power play strike from the left faceoff dot from a crisp, one-time pass by Zdeno Chara.

The Bruins are leading the Flyers by 1-0 score through one period of play.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/03/03/flyers-and-bruins-scorless-and-tradeless-at-the-garden/

URLs in this post:

[1] Maple Leafs: http://media.weei.com/hockey/toronto-maple-leafs.htm

[2] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[3] TD Banknorth Garden: http://media.weei.com/basketball/td-banknorth-garden.htm

[4] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[5] Mike Richards: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mike-richards.htm

[6] Chuck Kobasew: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chuck-kobasew.htm

[7] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[8] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[9] > Red-hot Bergeron puts Bruins on top with power play strike" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/03/03/flyers-and-bruins-scorless-and-tradeless-at-the-garden/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.