- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Kobasew and Upshall goals have B’s and Coyotes tied at 1-1

Posted By Joe Haggerty On March 5, 2009 @ 7:29 pm In General | No Comments

Chuck Kobasew [1] put the Bruins up first with a slap shot from the high slot that — aided by a screaming P.J. Axelsson crashing the net — squeezed between Ilya Bryzgalov’s pads and trickled into the back of the net.

Minutes later Mark Recchi [2] — skating on the top line with Marc Savard [3] and Phil Kessel [4] — camped out at his familiar spot by the post and redirected a Dennis Wideman [5] shot that hit the crossbar and then deflected high up into the netting.

9:58: Zdeno Chara [6] doled out the biggest hit of the net when he caught Coyotes forward Enver Lisin with his head down and crumpled the ‘Yotes winger into a heap. Several Phoenix forwards came after Chara following the hit, and Chara was called for interference.

7:59: Scottie Upshall can score against the Bruins — whether he’s a member of the Flyers or the Coyotes after getting traded yesterday. Joakim Lindstrom picked Dennis Wideman’s pocket behind the B’s net and fed Upshall for a backhanded bid that beat Tim Thomas [7] for the power play score.

The B’s and Coyotes are tied 1-1 after one full period the TD Banknorth Garden [8].


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/03/05/kobasew-goal-gives-bruins-a-1-0-lead-over-coyotes/

URLs in this post:

[1] Chuck Kobasew: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chuck-kobasew.htm

[2] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[3] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[4] Phil Kessel: http://media.weei.com/hockey/phil-kessel.htm

[5] Dennis Wideman: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-wideman.htm

[6] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[7] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[8] TD Banknorth Garden: http://media.weei.com/basketball/td-banknorth-garden.htm

[9] > Kobasew and Upshall goals have B’s and Coyotes tied at 1-1" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/03/05/kobasew-goal-gives-bruins-a-1-0-lead-over-coyotes/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.