- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Reinprecht gives the Coyotes a lead in second period

Posted By Joe Haggerty On March 5, 2009 @ 8:15 pm In General | No Comments

12:08: Steve Reinprecht migrated to the front of the net in perfect receiving position for a Nigel Dawes dish from the sideboards, and ripped a quick shot up and over Tim Thomas [1] to give the Coyotes a one-goal lead.

Seconds later Milan Lucic [2] delivered a punishing hit to an unsuspecting Coyotes skater in their defensive zone. The Looch was moved back to a fourth line spot with Shawn Thornton [3] and Stephane Yelle, and appears to be taking out some frustration on the ‘Yotes.

4:30: A series of solid saves by Thomas with Andrew Ference [4] in the penalty box. Thomas made a quick reaction save on a Peter Mueller shot that was tipped in front of the net by Aaron Ward [5], and then Thomas hopped back into position to make stops on Steve Reinprecht and Nigel Dawes.

2:10: Milan Lucic just missed up and to the left of the net with a high redirect of a Patrice Bergeron [6] wrist shot.

00:10: Clever little shot by Marc Savard [7] from a carom off the back boards. Savard was at a bad angle, but threw the puck toward the bodies at the front of the net. The puck hit defenseman Kurt Sauer, but took a bad bounce away from the net rather than back toward the goal.

The Desert Dogs lead the Bruins by a 2-1 score after two full periods of play at the TD Banknorth Garden [8].


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/03/05/reinprecht-gives-the-coyotes-a-lead-in-second-period/

URLs in this post:

[1] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[2] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[3] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[4] Andrew Ference: http://media.weei.com/hockey/andrew-ference.htm

[5] Aaron Ward: http://media.weei.com/hockey/aaron-ward.htm

[6] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[7] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[8] TD Banknorth Garden: http://media.weei.com/basketball/td-banknorth-garden.htm

[9] > Reinprecht gives the Coyotes a lead in second period" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/03/05/reinprecht-gives-the-coyotes-a-lead-in-second-period/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.