- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Recchi’s first goal in Black and Gold give the B’s a 1-0 lead

Posted By Joe Haggerty On March 7, 2009 @ 1:17 pm In General | 5 Comments

16:00: Near miss by Blackhawks winger Andrew Ladd on a backhanded bid that flipped over the crossbar.

13:57: Good scoring bid by the Bruins fourth line. Shawn Thornton [1] worked the puck into the neutral zone and tried to hit a speeding P.J. Axelsson on the off-wing, but instead a deflection put the puck on Stephane Yelle’s stick. The veteran unloaded a shot from the high slot just inside the blue line that Crystobal Huet was able to catch with some pad, and then cover up without further damage.

11:55: Near miss for the Blackhawks as Dustin Byfuglien hit Thomas and then the crossbar behind Thomas with a wobbly, bad angle forehand bid. Johnson raised his hands in mini-celebration before he hit the pipe.

9:41: That’s exactly why Peter Chiarelli got Mark Recchi [2].  The 41-year-old camped at the left post, gathered a Chuck Kobasew [3] pass and pushed it through Huet’s pads for his first goal as a Bruin. 

00:10: Great rush up the left wing by Marc Savard [4] in the closing seconds, and an even better dish to Phil Kessel [5] on the right wing that got Huet moving right to left. But Kessel couldn’t handle Savard’s tape-to-tape beauty and the B’s end the period with a fruitless flurry.

Good jump by the Black and Gold here in the early going. B’s out shoot the Hawks 15-7 for the period, and laid out 13 hits over the first 20 minutes.

The Bruins lead the Blackhawks by a 1-0 score with one full period in the books at the TD Banknorth Garden [6].


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/03/07/blackhawks-and-bruins-locked-in-a-scoreless-original-six-match/

URLs in this post:

[1] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[2] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[3] Chuck Kobasew: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chuck-kobasew.htm

[4] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[5] Phil Kessel: http://media.weei.com/hockey/phil-kessel.htm

[6] TD Banknorth Garden: http://media.weei.com/basketball/td-banknorth-garden.htm

[7] > Recchi’s first goal in Black and Gold give the B’s a 1-0 lead" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/03/07/blackhawks-and-bruins-locked-in-a-scoreless-original-six-match/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.