- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Penalties aplenty in early going, Ward, Axelsson and Kobasew score

Posted By Joe Haggerty On March 12, 2009 @ 6:18 pm In General | No Comments

Three penalties in the first two minutes of play here at the Garden in a game between the red-hot Ottawa Senators [1] — winners of four straight — and the not-so-hot Bruins — losers of two in a row — at the TD Banknorth Garden [2].

The first B’s penalty to Aaron Ward [3] actually proved fortunate for the Black and Gold when Ward finished up his sin bin time and jumped out of the box behind the Ottawa defense. Ward received a long entry pass from Patrice Bergeron [4] in the B’s D-zone,  skated in all alone and roofed a high, hard one right on the glove hand of Sens goalie Alex Auld. The whole play was set up by a goal-saving blocked shot by Zdeno Chara [5] in the defensive end.

The score is the first career short-handed goal for the 35-year-old Ward.

13:08: Beautiful give and go between PJ Axelsson [6] and David Krejci [7] that ends with Krejci putting a perfect dish on Axelsson’s tape, and the Swede roofed another shot against Auld for another Boston score. That was a flicker of the old Krejci with the uncanny puck instincts.

13:04: Fight between Milan Lucic [8] and Chris Neil in a busy first period. Good shots on both sides, and the refs step in when Looch’s jersey comes up over his head. 

12:35: Huge hit by Michael Ryder [9] on Anton Volchenkov as Ryder carried the puck and dished it in the offensive zone. Lots of oohs and aaahs as Volchenkov the aggressor was dumped on the ice.

9:36: Bing, bang boom. Former BC skater Ryan Shannon goes off with a penalty, and Ryder finds Kobasew right on the doorstep with a quick tap-in bid that bounced off Auld’s skate and into the net.

7:12: Great stop by Tim Thomas [10] on a Dany Heatley [11] wraparound bid going left to right, but the rebound kicked out to Jason Spezza in the slot, and that’s a spot he doesn’t miss from.

4:26: Snapping glove save by Auld of a Montador slapper on a loose puck that was leaking back to him at the blue line. Good jump by both the Marc Savard [12]/Blake Wheeler [13]/Phil Kessel [14] and Milan Lucic/David Krejci/Michael Ryder combos.

1:03: Somewhat questionable holding penalty on Blake Wheeler, who clearly needs to start skating and moving his feet rather than bear-hugging his opposition.

The B’s lead the Senators 3-1 at the end of the first period.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/03/12/penalties-aplenty-in-early-going/

URLs in this post:

[1] Ottawa Senators: http://media.weei.com/hockey/ottawa-senators.htm

[2] TD Banknorth Garden: http://media.weei.com/basketball/td-banknorth-garden.htm

[3] Aaron Ward: http://media.weei.com/hockey/aaron-ward.htm

[4] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[5] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[6] PJ Axelsson: http://media.weei.com/hockey/p.j.-axelsson.htm

[7] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[8] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[9] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[10] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[11] Dany Heatley: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dany-heatley.htm

[12] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[13] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[14] Phil Kessel: http://media.weei.com/hockey/phil-kessel.htm

[15] > Penalties aplenty in early going, Ward, Axelsson and Kobasew score" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/03/12/penalties-aplenty-in-early-going/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[16]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.