- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins still holding on to a one-goal lead

Posted By Joe Haggerty On March 14, 2009 @ 1:58 pm In General | No Comments

15:15: Good recovery by Aaron Ward [1] and Mark Stuar after pinching to keep the puck up in the Bruins offensive zone, as they hustled back to disrupt Tim Jackman on a one-man rush toward the Bruins net.

12:28: That’s a lot of young talent in the sin bin as both Milan Lucic [2] and Blake Wheeler [3] are in the penalty box for the Bruins, giving the Isles a two-man advantage for the next 42 seconds after coming out of a timeout on the ice.

11:41: A big takedown of  tough guy Brendan Witt in front of the Bruins net by Zdeno Chara [4] after Witt took a swipe at a puck in Thomas’ lap. Good show of toughness from Big Z with a player taking liberties on the Bruins goalie.

10:21: Both penalties killed off by Bruins. Thomas chatting with ref about a high stick he took the face from Frans Nielsen during the kill.

9:42: Hit from behind by Jackman on Andrew Ference [5] that drew an immediate penalty. Looch stormed in to defend his fallen teammate and throw around Jackman, and he’ll also be going to the box.

4:44: Nice neutral zone pass up to Byron Bitz freed him up for a good rush to the Isles net, but Danis made the save and then covered up as Andrew Ference came in for the second swipe.

4:12: Steady glove save by Danis on a Krejci pass to a wide open Dennis Wideman [6] at the right point. Skating together Lucic has definitely opened up some space for Krejci to operate.

The B’s still lead the Islanders by a 2-1 score with 9:42 to go in the third period.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/03/14/bruins-still-holding-on-to-a-one-goal-lead/

URLs in this post:

[1] Aaron Ward: http://media.weei.com/hockey/aaron-ward.htm

[2] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[3] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[4] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[5] Andrew Ference: http://media.weei.com/hockey/andrew-ference.htm

[6] Dennis Wideman: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-wideman.htm

[7] > Bruins still holding on to a one-goal lead" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/03/14/bruins-still-holding-on-to-a-one-goal-lead/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.