- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Streaking Kessel factors into B’s 2-1 lead

Posted By Joe Haggerty On March 14, 2009 @ 1:11 pm In General | No Comments

The Bruins hopped all over the thunderstruck Islanders in the first five minutes of the game with quick strike goals by Phil Kessel [1] and Marc Savard [2].

Kessel had the main assist with a nice dish on Savard’s goal, and has factored in Boston’s last four goals scored dating back to Thursday night’s 5-3 win over the Ottawa Senators [3]. The first period snipe was Kessel’s 30th goal of the season — the first the 21-year-old has reached that plateau and the first 30-goal scorer for the Black and Gold this season.

10:51: Uncommon matching penalties for both teams with a hooking penalty on the Islanders’ defenseman┬áBruno Gervais a boston bench slap for too many men on the ice.

9:35: That, folks, is why Islanders defenseman Mark Streit is an All-Star and why Montreal misses him so much on their backline this year. He just took a one-man rush through the entirety of the B’s defense, faked Zdeno Chara [4] out of his skates and then popped one over Tim Thomas [5] to put the Isles on the board.

5:50: Near misses by Milan Lucic [6] and David Krejci [7] as they both threw pucks through the crease behind goalie Yann Danis, but Hillen managed to get a stick on Krejci’s poke and the puck subsequntly bounced off the crossbar and back out. After a very brief review, it was ruled “no goal”.

2:29: Solid snap glove save from Thomas on a long Richard Park shot from the left point. A good example of what Timmy does best when he has a clear view of the puck.

1:25: Another too many men on the ice penalty. Sloppy, sloppy, sloppy.

The Bruins lead the Islanders 2-1 after two periods of play.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/03/14/streaking-kessel-factors-into-bs-2-0-lead/

URLs in this post:

[1] Phil Kessel: http://media.weei.com/hockey/phil-kessel.htm

[2] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[3] Ottawa Senators: http://media.weei.com/hockey/ottawa-senators.htm

[4] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[5] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[6] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[7] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[8] > Streaking Kessel factors into B’s 2-1 lead" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/03/14/streaking-kessel-factors-into-bs-2-0-lead/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.