- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Recchi scores, gives the Bruins a two goal advantage

Posted By Joe Haggerty On March 19, 2009 @ 7:00 pm In General | No Comments

19:42: Tim Thomas [1] picks up right where he left off in the first and makes a great swiping save of an Alexander Frolov bid to open the second period.

18:22: Good stick work by David Krejci [2], who intercepted a pass and popped a shot from the right faceoff circle that left a juicy rebound in front. Nobody home as Milan Lucic [3] was crashing the other side of the net. Krejci has been getting much better chances as of late, but he appears to be epitomizing the term “snake-bitten”.

16:12: Mark Recchi [4] goal that started with a hard Chuck Kobasew [5] forecheck that removed the puck from youngster Jack Johnson. Kobasew flipped the puck behind him to Bergeron in front of the net, and the scrambling D and goaltender were clear out of position when Bergeron slid it over to a wide open Recchi.

10:55: Raitis Ivanans must enjoy the comfy confines of the Garden penalty box because he just crunched Andrew Ference [6] from behind after coming out of the penalty box for an earlier slash on Stephane Yelle. Interesting to see if there will be some later retribution for the 6-foot-4, 256-pound Ivanans, who has scrapped with the Bruins in earlier games against them.

5:16: Great work by Blake Wheeler [7] to keep the puck in LA’s end, including a great 1-on-3 move that ended when he was dragged down by a Kings defender. A little reminiscent of the incredible 1-on-5 move that he put on the St. Louis Blues earlier this season.

00:53.2: Great snap glove save by Thomas on former UMaine player Teddy Purcell from the high slot. In case you haven’t noticed, there are a ton of former college players in the Kings’ organization.

The B’s are leading the Kings by a 2-0 score after two full periods at the TD Banknorth Garden [8].


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/03/19/bs-holding-to-a-one-goal-lead-over-hockey-royalty/

URLs in this post:

[1] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[2] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[3] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[4] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[5] Chuck Kobasew: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chuck-kobasew.htm

[6] Andrew Ference: http://media.weei.com/hockey/andrew-ference.htm

[7] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[8] TD Banknorth Garden: http://media.weei.com/basketball/td-banknorth-garden.htm

[9] > Recchi scores, gives the Bruins a two goal advantage" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/03/19/bs-holding-to-a-one-goal-lead-over-hockey-royalty/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.