- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Hunwick sniper shot puts Bruins up on the board

Posted By Joe Haggerty On March 19, 2009 @ 6:33 pm In General | 5 Comments

6:35: Both goaltenders look sharp early with local boy done good Jonathan Quick [1] representing UMass hockey well between the pipes for the Kings. Quick just made a great sprawling glove save on a Blake Wheeler [2] breakaway. Big Wheels came bombing straight down the slot without a defender in sight after a great takeaway and dish from Marc Savard [3]. Wheeler made a few “quick hands” moves with the stick and then attempted to tuck a forehand inside the right post. Quick stayed strong to the pipe, however, and stopped the puck’s momentum until the whistle blew. Great save.

Tonight also marks the fifth start in a row for Tim Thomas [4] dating back to the Manny Fernandez [5] MSG meltdown against the New York Rangers [6] on March 8. It’s a good bet that Man-Fern could do one of those “Not going anywhere for a while” commercials from the Bruins bench.

5:18: Matt Hunwick has certainly made an impression after being scratched the last few games. He was in the box for a hook in the first few minutes and then just put the B’s on the board with a snipe from the slot. Michael Ryder [7] fed Hunwick a perfect pass from behind the net, and Hunny rushed in from his D-man spot and went to a knee while blasting away from the slot. Every Bruins player touched the puck on the play in a nice display of puck movement.

The B’s have a 1-0 lead over the Kings after one period of play at the TD Banknorth Garden [8].


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/03/19/hunwick-sniper-shot-puts-bruins-up-on-the-board/

URLs in this post:

[1] Jonathan Quick: http://media.weei.com/hockey/jonathan-quick.htm

[2] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[3] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[4] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[5] Manny Fernandez: http://media.weei.com/hockey/manny-fernandez.htm

[6] New York Rangers: http://media.weei.com/hockey/new-york-rangers.htm

[7] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[8] TD Banknorth Garden: http://media.weei.com/basketball/td-banknorth-garden.htm

[9] > Hunwick sniper shot puts Bruins up on the board" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/03/19/hunwick-sniper-shot-puts-bruins-up-on-the-board/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.