- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Mark Recchi power play score puts Boston up in the first

Posted By Joe Haggerty On March 22, 2009 @ 2:15 pm In General | 1 Comment

18:00: Claude Julien [1] opens the game up with a bit of a surprise and puts P.J. Axelsson on the top line with Marc Savard [2] and Phil Kessel [3], after Blake Wheeler [4] had been most recently skating with Savard and Kessel. I will reiterate again that I’m not a big fan of PJ on the top line. This moves seems a bit conservative for my tastes, but maybe that’s just me.

16:45: Good little one-on-one move by P.J. Axelsson that Martin Brodeur [5] makes the juggling save on.

13:57: Near miss by the Devils when Tim Thomas [6] mishandled a dump in, and Brian Gionta picked the loose puck up and fed it to Brian Rolston [7] in front as Thomas scrambled back into the net. Thomas made it back between the pipes in time, but Rolston missed wide right with the shot from the right faceoff circle.

9:03: Big glove save by Brodeur on a Phil Kessel bid from the slot from a nice Savard feed off the sideboards. Brodeur simply got a glove on it and deflected it near the corner.

8:04: Kessel with another good chance, misses wide left with a wrist shot coming down the slot. A lot of jump from Savard and Kessel in the early going today.

Good job by the Bruins defenseman of finding a seam and get their point shots through traffic toward the New Jersey net. Brodeur has looked pretty damned solid in the early going, however.

3:38: Mark Recchi [8] continues to play dividends. The veteran winger took a shot from the right faceoff circle that bounced off defenseman Paul Martin’s right skate and went right on past Brodeur for a power play score. It’s Recchi’s fifth goal since coming to the B’s.

0:00: Slash by Bobby Holik on Aaron Ward [9] behind the Bruins net as the horn expired in the first period. Ward tried to catch up to Holik and have a “word”, but the refs got in between the two and headed the veteran defenseman off at the pass.

The Bruins lead the Devils 1-0 after one full period at the TD Banknorth Garden [10].


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/03/22/bruins-and-devils-locked-in-scoreless-eastern-showdown/

URLs in this post:

[1] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[2] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[3] Phil Kessel: http://media.weei.com/hockey/phil-kessel.htm

[4] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[5] Martin Brodeur: http://media.weei.com/hockey/martin-brodeur.htm

[6] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[7] Brian Rolston: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brian-rolston.htm

[8] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[9] Aaron Ward: http://media.weei.com/hockey/aaron-ward.htm

[10] TD Banknorth Garden: http://media.weei.com/basketball/td-banknorth-garden.htm

[11] > Mark Recchi power play score puts Boston up in the first" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/03/22/bruins-and-devils-locked-in-scoreless-eastern-showdown/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.