- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Kobasew, Savard, Lucic goals give the Bruins a three-goal lead

Posted By Joe Haggerty On March 22, 2009 @ 3:01 pm In General | No Comments

Scoring change: The Bruins media relations guru Eric Tosi just announced that the B’s goal has been changed from Mark Recchi [1] to Michael Ryder [2]. I’m a little mystifed considering Ryder never touched the puck, and the goal clearly went off Martin’s skate, so stay tuned on that one.

18:08: Great wheeling, backhanded bid by Chuck Kobasew [3] from behind the net that slid past Brodeur to the far side of the post to give Boston a 2-0 lead. The 18th goal of the season for Kobasew.

13:41: Another power play score for the Bruins. Marc Savard [4] gets a fortunate bounce of the puck from a left point shot by Matt Hunwick, collects the puck at the right faceoff and unloads a bullet into the open net to give the B’s a 3-0 lead. The B’s are doing everything right at this point, and turning hard work and hustle into good bounces. It’s Savard’s 23rd goal of the season.

9:42: Great glove save by Brodeur on a Dennis Wideman [5] hot shot from the high point with Ryder and Recchi both bearing down on him. Superb puck movement by the Bruins on their power plays today.

7:16: Devils get one back on a nice tip by defenseman Andy Greene, who stormed down the middle of the ice and redirected a Jamie Langenbruner pass up and over Tim Thomas [6].

5:29: A pair of solid stops by Thomas on Zach Parise [7] in close, as he blocked a shot from the high slot and then somehow absorbed the other shot between his legs while sitting down on the ice.

2:34: Milan Lucic [8] strikes with a pretty backhanded bid, as he controlled the puck in the right corner and looked pass to Stephane Yelle storming down the slot. Instead he surprised Brodeur by flicking a nifty little backhander that may have hit Yelle or Zach Parise before going through the goaltender’s pads for Boston’s fourth goal.

The Bruins are beating the Devils by a 4-1 score after two complete periods at the TD Banknorth Garden [9].


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/03/22/kobasew-gives-the-bruins-a-two-goal-lead-in-second/

URLs in this post:

[1] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[2] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[3] Chuck Kobasew: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chuck-kobasew.htm

[4] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[5] Dennis Wideman: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-wideman.htm

[6] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[7] Zach Parise: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zach-parise.htm

[8] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[9] TD Banknorth Garden: http://media.weei.com/basketball/td-banknorth-garden.htm

[10] > Kobasew, Savard, Lucic goals give the Bruins a three-goal lead" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/03/22/kobasew-gives-the-bruins-a-two-goal-lead-in-second/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.