- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Wheeler and Savard team up to give B’s a 1-0 lead

Posted By Joe Haggerty On March 31, 2009 @ 6:19 pm In General | 1 Comment

13:57: The Lightning just killed off a Brandon Bochenski penalty. Yes, that Brandon Bochenski. The journeyman that the B’s traded Kris Versteeg for was just called up by Tampa Bay for tonight’s game. Not incredibly crisp on the PP, but a few good bids by Zdeno Chara [1] and some good energy from Patrice Bergeron [2] and David Krejci [3] on the second unit.

11:17: Great action over the last minute. Tampa goaltender Mike McKenna made a great save on a Mark Stuart [4] shot from the slot, and then Zdeno Chara and Evgeny Artyukhin ended up dropping the gloves following a big Milan Lucic [5] hit on Artyukhin in the neutral zone. Chara went off for two minutes roughing and five for fighting while Artyukhin simply got a rough. The fight was preceded immediately by a Vinny Lecavalier penalty on David Krejci as he made a rush into the Bolts zone. Chara got in a few good shots, but Artyukhin eventually scored the take-down at the end of a fight between two big boys on skates.

7:46: A Michael Ryder [6] tip of an Aaron Ward [7] blast from the point hit pipe and then ricocheted away.

7:25: A Bruins goal was waved off when the play was ruled offsides. The whistle clearly blew prior to the puck going in the net.

5:57: Crafty little play by Marc Savard [8] as he snuck to the back right corner as McKenna played the puck, and then jumped all over the play when the Tampa goal threw the puck directly Savard’s way. Savard took a quick bad angle shot from the right side that McKenna saved, but Blake Wheeler [9] jumped all over the rebound and poked it through short side. A score totally created by Savard’s craftiness.

The goal is Wheeler’s 20th of his rookie season, and gives the Bruins their sixth player with 20 goals this season.

2:07: Looch to the box after taking out former Harvard D-man Noah Welch in front of the Tampa net after Michael Ryder threw a puck in front of the net. First PP opportunity for the Bolts.

1:33: Aaron Ward [10] gets Martin St. Louis with a high stick to the grill, and also goes off to the sin bin creating a 5-on-3 PP for the Lightning.

Tampa Bay managed only one shot during 90 seconds with a two-man advantage and only mustered four shots in the first period. They look as if they left their game on the Lightning charter jet at Hanscom.

The B’s lead the Lightning by a 1-0 score after one full period at the TD Banknorth Garden [11].


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/03/31/bruins-and-lightning-locked-in-a-scoreless-tie/

URLs in this post:

[1] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[2] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[3] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[4] Mark Stuart: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-stuart.htm

[5] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[6] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[7] Aaron Ward: http://media.weei.com/hockey/aaron-ward.htm

[8] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[9] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[10] Aaron Ward: http://media.weei.com/hockey/aaron-ward-hockey.htm

[11] TD Banknorth Garden: http://media.weei.com/basketball/td-banknorth-garden.htm

[12] > Wheeler and Savard team up to give B’s a 1-0 lead" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/03/31/bruins-and-lightning-locked-in-a-scoreless-tie/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[13]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.