- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Kessel, Thornton expected out for tonight vs. Senators

Posted By Joe Haggerty On April 2, 2009 @ 11:19 am In General | No Comments

WILMINGTON — Phil Kessel [1] skated and did some light shooting on the ice and Shawn Thornton [2] wasn’t present during Thursday morning’s pre-game skate prior to tonight’s tilt at the TD Banknorth Garden [3] against the Ottawa Senators [4].

Thornton’s asbence from the morning skate indicates that the B’s brawling winger will miss his second straight game with a minor “undisclosed injury”. With Thornton and Kessel out of the lineup, Bitz should again populate the fourth line with Steve Montador and Stephane Yelle — and Blake Wheeler [5], P.J. Axelsson and Marc Savard [6]  will again skate as Boston’s top scoring line after producing an even-strength goal Tuesday night.

“Phil was on the ice and he’s practicing, and we’re planning his return for sometime next week,” said Claude Julien [7]. “(Thornton) is still the same. I can’t say any more than it’s not sonething serious. There’s a lot of the same, and we’re just going to keep going with healthy guys.”


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/04/02/kessel-thornton-expected-out-for-tonight-vs-senators/

URLs in this post:

[1] Phil Kessel: http://media.weei.com/hockey/phil-kessel.htm

[2] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[3] TD Banknorth Garden: http://media.weei.com/basketball/td-banknorth-garden.htm

[4] Ottawa Senators: http://media.weei.com/hockey/ottawa-senators.htm

[5] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[6] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[7] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[8] > Kessel, Thornton expected out for tonight vs. Senators" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/04/02/kessel-thornton-expected-out-for-tonight-vs-senators/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.