- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Lucic ties it up with a sizzling slapper in second

Posted By Joe Haggerty On April 2, 2009 @ 7:08 pm In General | No Comments

17:47: Good job by Aaron Ward [1] and Milan Lucic [2] blocking shots in the D-zone.

Which leads to…

17:33: Wow, that was Cam Neely-esque. Milan Lucic took a nice breakout pass from Michael Ryder [3] in the nuetral zone and rifled a sizzling slap shot to the top right corner. Auld didn’t even have a chance to get a glove on it. Just like that, Looch has tied things up on his 17th goal of the season.

14:48: Nifty little wraparound move by David Krejci [4] that Auld was able to hug the post and stop, and Ryder narrowly missed on the rebound when he flipped at Auld’s back. The puck trickled away from the post and rested harmlessly behind the net.

13:16: Good short-handed rush by Mike Fisher after beating Matt Hunwick to a loose puck during a Boston PP. Thomas covered the bottom of the net and smothered Fisher’s attempt to go five hole.

12:38: Good pressure by Chuck Kobasew [5] off a faceoff in the Sens D-zone as he batted a bouncing puck out of the air, but Auld was able to get a glove on it.

11:45: Great give and go with Marc Savard [6] and Zdeno Chara [7], with Chara sneaking in the back door for the tip in front of the net. Auld was able to knock the tip away with his shoulder, but the B’s have put much more pressure on here in the second period.

5:37: Big “sit-down” hit by Mark Stuart [8] in front of the Boston net as an Ottawa rusher swooped in to attack the net. Stuart is playing in his team-leading 156th consecutive game in a Bruins uniform, and has really started showing improvement in all areas as the season has worn on.

2:37: All heck breaks loose as Jarkko Ruutu hits Tim Thomas [9] with a shot flying toward him. Thomas goes down, Ruutu goes down next to him and then P.J. Axelsson — of all people — came in and did a big splash off the top turnbuckle on top of Ruutu. Brad Winchester and the surly Shane Hnidy both went to the box for some extended pushing and shoving after the whistle.

The Bruins and Senators are tied at 1-1 at the end of two full periods at the TD Banknorth Garden [10].


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/04/02/lucic-ties-it-up-with-a-sizzling-slapper/

URLs in this post:

[1] Aaron Ward: http://media.weei.com/hockey/aaron-ward.htm

[2] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[3] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[4] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[5] Chuck Kobasew: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chuck-kobasew.htm

[6] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[7] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[8] Mark Stuart: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-stuart.htm

[9] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[10] TD Banknorth Garden: http://media.weei.com/basketball/td-banknorth-garden.htm

[11] > Lucic ties it up with a sizzling slapper in second" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/04/02/lucic-ties-it-up-with-a-sizzling-slapper/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.