- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Wideman, Ference and Axelsson out for Tuesday vs. Ottawa

Posted By Joe Haggerty On April 6, 2009 @ 11:25 am In General | 6 Comments

Dennis Wideman [1], P.J. Axelsson and Andrew Ference [2] will all stay behind in Boston due to injuries and not play in Tuesday night’s game against the Ottawa Senators [3] at ScotiaBank Place. Ference was injured during the second period of Saturday’s game against the New York Rangers [4], and is still being evaluated by doctors today. His “undisclosed  injury” appears to be the most serious of the three, and Julien said he couldn’t guarantee or rule out that Ference will be ready to go for the playoffs come April 16.

Wideman will be left behind in a bit of a maintenance issue, but Bruins coach Claude Julien [5] said that his injury is not related to the painful-looking shot that he blocked with his midsection in Saturday’s game. Axelsson appeared to suffer an undisclosed injury during Monday’s practice that caused him to leave the ice early, and will also not be making the trip to Ottawa.

Julien further added that both Shawn Thornton [6] and Phil Kessel [7] will be making the trip, and that Kessel will be evaluated during Tuesday’s morning skate. With all the missing bodies, it would be shocking if Kessel isn’t back playing in B’s sweater Tuesday night. It’s expected that Aaron Ward [8], scratched for Saturday’s game, will also be busting his butt to be ready to play come Tuesday night. Julien also doesn’t expect that any extra bodies from Providence will be needed to supplement the growing number of fallen B’s.

“Right now Phil is much better and we’ll make a final decision on him tomorrow morning,” said Julien. “Probably the worst of the bunch will be Andrew Ference. He’s getting evaluated further today, so we can know the severity of the injury. A lot of the guys that aren’t playing it’s really just maintenance. There’s nothing serious there.”

Manny Fernandez [9] will start in net for the B’s against the Senators.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/04/06/wideman-ference-and-axelsson-out-for-tuesday-vs-ottawa/

URLs in this post:

[1] Dennis Wideman: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-wideman.htm

[2] Andrew Ference: http://media.weei.com/hockey/andrew-ference.htm

[3] Ottawa Senators: http://media.weei.com/hockey/ottawa-senators.htm

[4] New York Rangers: http://media.weei.com/hockey/new-york-rangers.htm

[5] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[6] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[7] Phil Kessel: http://media.weei.com/hockey/phil-kessel.htm

[8] Aaron Ward: http://media.weei.com/hockey/aaron-ward.htm

[9] Manny Fernandez: http://media.weei.com/hockey/manny-fernandez.htm

[10] > Wideman, Ference and Axelsson out for Tuesday vs. Ottawa" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/04/06/wideman-ference-and-axelsson-out-for-tuesday-vs-ottawa/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.