- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bergeron puts Bruins up by one after one

Posted By Joe Haggerty On April 9, 2009 @ 6:49 pm In General | No Comments

2:02: After a first period that should have you jacked and pumped for the Stanley Cup [1] playoffs unless you’re heart has stopped beating, the B’s draw first blood with a Patrice Bergeron [2] goal right in front. The Bergeron score was the end of some tic-tac passing with Mark Recchi [3] flipping it cross-ice to Matt Hunwick bombing down the right side. Hunwick picked his head up and found Bergeorn all alone at the right post, and fed a sweet tape-to-tape pass for the tap-in. Canadiens defenseman Josh Gorges cross-checked Bergeron from behind after the puck was in the net, and set off an extended pushing and shoving scrum.

0:00: All heck broke loose at the end of the first period as Mike Komisarek, who has been active all period, went in after David Krejci [4] in the corner. The two pushed and shoved, and then Zdeno Chara [5] arrived and started throwing elbows and jobs at Komisarek. The entanglement started a team-wide donnybrook in the corner, and both Chara and Komisarek were whistled off for penalties. Komisarek was hit with a two-minute penalty (roughing) and Chara got four minutes (double minor for roughing) after coming in late to stand up for Krejci.

The Bruins are leading the Canadiens by a 1-o score after one full period at the TD Banknorth Garden [6].


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/04/09/bergeron-puts-bruins-up-by-one-after-one/

URLs in this post:

[1] Stanley Cup: http://media.weei.com/hockey/stanley-cup.htm

[2] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[3] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[4] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[5] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[6] TD Banknorth Garden: http://media.weei.com/basketball/td-banknorth-garden.htm

[7] > Bergeron puts Bruins up by one after one" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/04/09/bergeron-puts-bruins-up-by-one-after-one/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.