- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Recchi plays the hero with OT game-winner

Posted By Joe Haggerty On April 9, 2009 @ 8:28 pm In General | 5 Comments

14:33: Tie hockey game. Big Zdeno Chara [1] mixed it up down low during the power play and flipped a second effort attempt past Price after he managed to stop the first swat from Mark Recchi [2]. The power play score began with a big wrist shot from the right point by Marc Savard [3]. One more goal from Chara will put him at a career-best 20 for the season, and might put a little more shine on his Norris Trophy candidacy.

5:43: The Habs are throwing everything but the kitchen sink at the Bruins, and Tim Thomas [4] is playing his best of the three periods tonight. A couple big saves when the defense started running around a little bit in Boston’s end during the last possession.

5:00: Great save by Thomas on a one-man rush by Chris Higgins as he managed to slice through a pair of Boston defenders.

2:02: Another sprawling save by Thomas on a Kovalev rush up the right side. Tonight Kovalev has looked like the guy that was a Bruins killer last season.

0:00: And the Canadiens crowd goes wild high-fiving at the Garden. Yes, the game is going to OT, but the Habs have clinched a playoff spot with their one point earned by pushing things to overtime.

OT: Mark Recchi does it again. A great set-up from Patrice Bergeron [5], and the 41-year-old “rent-a-player” banged it home to send the Bruins’ masses home euphoric. We can only hope that the hockey gods deem this Habs/Bruins worthy in the first round of the plays. Seven games just like tonight’s instant classic would be epic.

A Mark Recchi score in OT gives the B’s a rousing 5-4 win. The Bruins have two games left against lesser lights in Buffalo and New York (Islanders [6], not Rangers) and then the playoffs begin in earnest.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/04/09/charas-scores-ties-it-up-at-4-4-apiece/

URLs in this post:

[1] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[2] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[3] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[4] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[5] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[6] New York (Islanders: http://media.weei.com/hockey/new-york-islanders.htm

[7] > Recchi plays the hero with OT game-winner" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/04/09/charas-scores-ties-it-up-at-4-4-apiece/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.