- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

The rout is on for the Bruins, 5-1, at TD Banknorth Garden

Posted By Joe Haggerty On April 18, 2009 @ 9:04 pm In General | No Comments

18:52: Tom Kostopoulos just got leveled by Mark Stuart [1] in a mid-ice hit while he was stretching for a puck entering the B’s zone.

11:46: Knockout hit by Mark Stuart delivered on Saku Koivu as Blake Wheeler [2] chased him up the right side of the ice. The B’s were outhit 24-16 through two periods by the Canadiens, but it really doesn’t seem that way out on the ice tonight.

Jaroslav Halak in the game for the Habs at the start of the third period.

9:57: Now this game has had everything. Genltemanly Patrice Bergeron [3], who is up for the Masterson Trophy this season, dropped the gloves with Josh Gorges and completely pounded the Montreal defenseman with a series of strong left hands. That was his first career fighting major. What a time to pick.

Completely expecting the Canadiens to run somebody here in the final few minutes.

4:32: And just as I say that, Milan Lucic [4] takes on the entire Canadiens on-ice five. Mathieu Schneider hit Lucic with a butt end to the face in front of the Montreal net, and then Lucic hit Maxim Lapierre [5] in the face with a cross-check as he approached to intervene. Then the entire Canadiens quintet converged on Lucic, ripping his helmet off and throwing shots at him in the pile. Lucic is done for the night after taking a five minute high-sticking penalty and a game misconduct.

The Bruins are routing the Canadiens by a 5-1 score with 4:27 left in the third period in Game 2 at the TD Banknorth Garden [6].


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/04/18/the-rout-is-on-for-the-bruins-5-1-at-td-banknorth-garden/

URLs in this post:

[1] Mark Stuart: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-stuart.htm

[2] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[3] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[4] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[5] Maxim Lapierre: http://media.weei.com/hockey/maxim-lapierre.htm

[6] TD Banknorth Garden: http://media.weei.com/basketball/td-banknorth-garden.htm

[7] > The rout is on for the Bruins, 5-1, at TD Banknorth Garden" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/04/18/the-rout-is-on-for-the-bruins-5-1-at-td-banknorth-garden/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.