- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Ryder gets a little revenge, B’s take 3-2 lead

Posted By Joe Haggerty On April 20, 2009 @ 7:12 pm In General | No Comments

MONTREAL, Quebec — 18:53: Kovalev missed on a good setup feed from Andrei Kostitsyn. He’s been just a tick off on a couple of really scoring opportunities.

16:43: Good save by Thomas hugging the post on a Christopher Higgins shot.

16:24: Score by Shawn “I’m not a Meat Stick” Thornton on a nifty little short side snipe right under the crossbar. Byron Bitz did a good job of controlling the puck behind the Montreal net and then finding Thornton in front.

14:44: Great faceoff play by the Habs in the offensive zone. Metropolit wins the draw back to Yannick Weber, and the young D-Man fires a low shot to the right post that Thomas didn’t get a look at.

11:03: Big pileup in front of the net. Tough guy Gregory Stewart got lucked up with Patrice Bergeron [1] behind the net and both skaters traded forearm blows at each other’s faces. As a result, Laraque, Steward, Bergeron and Mark Stuart [2] all end up in the box.

6:42: There hasn’t been much signature Montreal flopping and diving in this series, but it might have just started. Byron Bitz was chasing after Alex Kovalev, took a swipe at him with his stick and Kovalev went down like a ton of bricks. PP Montreal.

3:23: Post for Marc Savard [3] on a bad angle shot from the sideboard. It rattled off the pipe and then Price flopped on top of the loose puck before Kessel could pounce.

2:39: Bing Bang Boom. Michael Ryder [4] taps in the rebound of a Dennis Wideman [5] shot from the right point amid all kinds of action in front of Price.

1:32: Mark Recchi [6] goes to the box for a hold after Kovalev does his best impersonation of Fosbury.

The B’s lead the Habs by a 3-2 score after two full periods of play in Game 3 at the Bell Centre [7].


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/04/20/bruins-and-habs-are-tied-at-1-1-apiece-in-the-second/

URLs in this post:

[1] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[2] Mark Stuart: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-stuart.htm

[3] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[4] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[5] Dennis Wideman: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-wideman.htm

[6] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[7] Bell Centre: http://media.weei.com/hockey/bell-centre.htm

[8] > Ryder gets a little revenge, B’s take 3-2 lead" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/04/20/bruins-and-habs-are-tied-at-1-1-apiece-in-the-second/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.