- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

SI Players Poll: Bruins only get seven percent of the Stanley Cup vote

Posted By Joe Haggerty On April 21, 2009 @ 9:58 am In General | 4 Comments

Interesting survey in this week’s Sports Illustrated based on a survey of 324 NHL [1] players about who they felt was going to win the Stanley Cup [2]. Despite everything accomplished in the regular season, the Boston Bruins [3] are placed fourth in the line of likeliness to raise Lord Stanley’s Cup over their collective heads.

I’m assuming this survey was taken before No Show Joe Thornton [4] and the San Jose Sharks [5] went down 0-2 to the eighth-seeded Anaheim Ducks [6] in their opening round series. Perhaps this is why players play and prognosticators prognosticate. The New Jersey Devils [7] clearly have the playoff experience edge and the bigger reputation goaltender in Martin Brodeur [8], but I’m not sure I see them as the clear favorite over the Bruins in a seven-game playoff series after they fell apart in the final weeks of the regular season.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/04/21/si-players-poll-bruins-only-get-seven-percent-of-the-stanley-cup-vote/

URLs in this post:

[1] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[2] Stanley Cup: http://media.weei.com/hockey/stanley-cup.htm

[3] Boston Bruins: http://media.weei.com/hockey/boston-bruins.htm

[4] Joe Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/joe-thornton.htm

[5] San Jose Sharks: http://media.weei.com/hockey/san-jose-sharks.htm

[6] Anaheim Ducks: http://media.weei.com/hockey/anaheim-ducks.htm

[7] New Jersey Devils: http://media.weei.com/hockey/new-jersey-devils.htm

[8] Martin Brodeur: http://media.weei.com/hockey/martin-brodeur.htm

[9] > SI Players Poll: Bruins only get seven percent of the Stanley Cup vote" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/04/21/si-players-poll-bruins-only-get-seven-percent-of-the-stanley-cup-vote/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.