- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Zdeno Chara among finalists for the Norris Trophy

Posted By Joe Haggerty On April 23, 2009 @ 5:19 pm In General | 5 Comments

In a move that surprised absolutely nobody, the NHL [1] announced today that Bruins defenseman Zdeno Chara [2] is one of three finalists competing for the 2008-09 Norris Trophy, which is awarded “to the defense player who demonstrates throughout the season the greatest all-round ability in the position.’€ Chara joins Mike Green [3] from the Washington Capitals [4] and Nicklas Lidstrom of the Detroit Red Wings [5] as this year’€™s three finalists. This is the second consecutive year Chara has been a finalist, and third time overall in his hockey career (2004 with Ottawa).

In full PWWA (Professional Hockey Writers’ Association) disclosure, I voted Chara as my top choice for both the Norris Trophy and Hart Trophy (hockey’s MVP) and think the big defenseman should have a legitimate shot to win both of hockey’s prestigious awards. Chara is clearly the best defensive defenseman in the game right now, and some have equated his abilities to that of a shutdown cornerback in football. He’s that effective at neutralizing whichever offensive stars he’s matched up against in a particular game. Add to that some of the best offensive numbers in his All-Star career, and this is the season that Chara should come from the NHL [6] Awards Show with plenty of hardware. 

My ballot for the Norris:

1. Zdeno Chara Boston Bruins [7]
2. Mike Green Washington Capitals
3. Nicklas Lidstrom Detroit Red Wings
4. Dan Boyle San Jose Sharks [8]
5. Shea Weber [9] Nashville Predators [10]

Chara anchored a Bruins blue line that allowed the lowest goals per game figure in the NHL this season (2.29). He led the Bruins and ranked sixth overall in the league in average ice time (26:04) and finished the regular season with a career-high 19 goals, 31 assists and a +23 rating. His 19 goals ranked fourth in the league amongst all defensemen, while his 11 power play strikes ranked third.

Chara’€™s average ice time (26:04), hits (169) and blocked shots (123) are the highest amongst the other two Norris finalists.

Members of the Professional Hockey Writers’€™ Association submitted ballots for the Norris Trophy at the conclusion of the regular season, with the top three vote-getters designated as finalists. The winner will be announced Thursday, June 18, during the 2009 NHL Awards show that will be broadcast live from the Pearl Concert Theater inside the Palms Hotel Las Vegas on VERSUS in the United States and on CBC in Canada


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/04/23/zdeno-chara-among-finalists-for-the-norris-trophy/

URLs in this post:

[1] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[2] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[3] Mike Green: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mike-green.htm

[4] Washington Capitals: http://media.weei.com/hockey/washington-capitals.htm

[5] Detroit Red Wings: http://media.weei.com/hockey/detroit-red-wings.htm

[6] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl-hockey.htm

[7] Boston Bruins: http://media.weei.com/hockey/boston-bruins.htm

[8] San Jose Sharks: http://media.weei.com/hockey/san-jose-sharks.htm

[9] Shea Weber: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shea-weber.htm

[10] Nashville Predators: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nashville-predators.htm

[11] > Zdeno Chara among finalists for the Norris Trophy" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/04/23/zdeno-chara-among-finalists-for-the-norris-trophy/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.