- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins will face Hurricanes in semifinals, Game 1 on Friday

Posted By Joe Haggerty On April 28, 2009 @ 9:39 pm In General | 6 Comments

After the New York Rangers [1] fell to the Washington Capitals [2] by a 2-1 score in the early Game 7 on Tuesday night, the Carolina Hurricanes [3] stunned the New Jersey Devils [4] with two goals in the final two minutes of the third period to take a come-from-behind 4-3 victory in Game 7 at the Prudential Center [5]. The sixth-seeded ‘Canes are the lowest remaining seed of the four Eastern Conference teams, so — by virtue of the NHL [6] re-seeding after each round — the Bruins will take on the former Hartford Whalers in a seven-game series set to start this weekend in Boston.

The Bruins/Hurricanes series is set to begin with Game 1 on Friday night, and Game 2 will be Sunday. The B’s were a perfect 4-0 against the Hurricanes during the regular season, and outscored the ‘Canes by a big 18-6 margin in those four games. It should be noted, though, that the majority of Boston’s success against Carolina came in the first half of the season — a time when the Black and Gold were blowing out everybody. The ‘Canes, meanwhile, were a different team in the second half of the season and posted a solid 13-3-2 record after March 1 in a playoff push that impressed many.

That being said, Erik Staal was one of those Eastern Conference scorers that Zdeno Chara [7] was able to intimidate and dominate during their regular season showdowns. Staal had no points and was a -6 in the four games against Boston this season while finishing with a 40 goal season and a +15 on the year for Carolina. That is impressive defensive work.

Here’s the full schedule:

Game 1 May 1st (7:30 pm) NESN, Versus
Game 2 May 3rd (7:30 pm) Versus
Game 3 May 6th (7:30 pm) NESN, Versus
Game 4 May 8th (7:30 pm) NESN Versus
Game 5 May 10th (7:30 pm)* NESN Versus
Game 6 May 12th (7 pm)* Versus
Game 7 May 14th (TBA)* NESN Versus

*if necessary


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/04/28/bruins-will-face-hurricanes-in-semi-finals-game-1-on-friday/

URLs in this post:

[1] New York Rangers: http://media.weei.com/hockey/new-york-rangers.htm

[2] Washington Capitals: http://media.weei.com/hockey/washington-capitals.htm

[3] Carolina Hurricanes: http://media.weei.com/hockey/carolina-hurricanes.htm

[4] New Jersey Devils: http://media.weei.com/hockey/new-jersey-devils.htm

[5] Prudential Center: http://media.weei.com/hockey/prudential-center.htm

[6] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[7] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[8] > Bruins will face Hurricanes in semifinals, Game 1 on Friday" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/04/28/bruins-will-face-hurricanes-in-semi-finals-game-1-on-friday/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.