- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Jokinen ties things up for the Canes in Game 1

Posted By Joe Haggerty On May 1, 2009 @ 6:45 pm In General | 1 Comment

18:26: How poetic. Ward scores on Ward. Aaron Ward [1] fires a long bomb from the right point that sails through a group of bodies in front of the net, hits David Krejci’s stick in front and then goes right on past Cam Ward [2]. Just like that it’s 1-0.

16:46: Pretty good breakout up the ice by Krejci, who held on to the puck and set up a Dennis Wideman [3] blast that Ward was able to block with his body. Krejci has a lot of jump in his legs tonight.

13:53: Good wraparound bid by Eric Staal, but he was immediately pounded down to the ice by Zdeno Chara [4] before he could follow up his shot. Expect to see a  great deal of that throughout the series.

13:40: First PP goes to Boston. Penalty on Carolina’s Ray Whitney. The B’s were 4-for-12 on the PP during the series sweep of the Habs.

13:05: Good glove save by Ward on a Wideman blast from the high point. PP unit is moving the puck really smoothly when they get into the zone. Not a lot of rust so far.

11:18: Great save by Thomas and a painful looking smash into the crossbar for Tuomo Ruutu off a great pass from the left wing by Erik Cole [5]. Ruutu came crashing in with a lot of speed and basically got clotheslined by the crossbar after Thomas shifted to his right to make the save.

The Hurricanes [6] have eight shots for the period, but a good deal of them have been testers from the outside faceoff circles — the exact kind of shots that the Boston defense is trying to force. Thomas can get a clear look at the puck, and if he’s an unobstructed look then he’s going to almost always stop it.

7:51: Marc Savard [7] reacted is he were hit with a high stick to the face in the offensive zone, but no call from the refs.

6:03: Good open-ice hit by Shawn Thornton [8] on Ryan Bayda that knocked the Canes winger on his keister.

4:25: Great self pass off the boards by Phil Kessel [9] after beating the Carolina D. The speedy Kessel flicked a shot on net that Ward saved, and P.J. Axelsson couldn’t get to the rebound.

3:43: Good 2-on-1 rush by the Bruins with Kessel flipping a saucer pass to a rushing Steve Montador. Ward stoned Montador on backhand bid up close at the Carolina cage.

2:01: Weird bounce by a Joe Corvo dump attempt from beyond center ice that handcuffed Thomas a bit. A little reminiscent of that Washington long bomb that somehow squeezed by Thomas in OT.

1:10: All tied. Jussi Jokinen — a great pickup by Carolina on waivers — beat Thomas with a wrister from the high slot with Bayda bearing down on Thomas and eventually crashing into him. Goal counts for Carolina, and they also picked up a goaltender interference call after the score.

The Bruins and Hurricanes are tied at a 1-1 score after one full period of play during Game 1 at the TD Banknorth Garden [10].


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/05/01/krecji-tip-of-ward-bomb-puts-the-bruins-up-1-0-quickly/

URLs in this post:

[1] Aaron Ward: http://media.weei.com/hockey/aaron-ward.htm

[2] Cam Ward: http://media.weei.com/hockey/cam-ward.htm

[3] Dennis Wideman: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-wideman.htm

[4] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[5] Erik Cole: http://media.weei.com/hockey/erik-cole.htm

[6] Hurricanes: http://media.weei.com/hockey/aaron-ward-hockey.htm

[7] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[8] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[9] Phil Kessel: http://media.weei.com/hockey/phil-kessel.htm

[10] TD Banknorth Garden: http://media.weei.com/basketball/td-banknorth-garden.htm

[11] > Jokinen ties things up for the Canes in Game 1" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/05/01/krecji-tip-of-ward-bomb-puts-the-bruins-up-1-0-quickly/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.