- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Recchi’s first goal of playoffs ties it up in third

Posted By Joe Haggerty On May 6, 2009 @ 9:29 pm In General | 2 Comments

RALEIGH — The Canes come right back out with jump and aggression to start the third.

19:45: Chad LaRose takes the puck away from Zdeno Chara [1] in the corner, drives down the middle of the ice and puts a strong forehand shot on Thomas. Thomas kicks away the reboud to Matt Cullen, who misses high with a rebound attempt in tight.

13:32: Good shot by Dennis Wideman [2] from the left faceoff circle off a cross-ice dish from P.J. Axelsson, but Ward kicked the puck into the corner. The Bruins have settled things down a little here.

10:57: Just wrote about all of the things Recchi has been doing even though he hasn’t been scoring. Well, now he’s scoring too. He plopped himself in front of the net and tipped a puck from Chuck Kobasew [3] by the sideboard that slipped through Ward’s pads to tie things up. Big goal.

8:46: David Krejci [4] has not been very good tonight. Just gave up a puck to Erik Cole [5] in the nuetral zone that allowed the Canes winger to squeeze a shot off on Thomas.

7:50: Another bad giveaway by Krejci in the defensive end. This isn’t going on his Greatest Hits mix tape tonight.

3:43: Pretty close to a hold by Michael Ryder [6] going up the ice against the Canes. It appears the refs are suffering from a bout of third period-itis.

2:38: Good calm save by Thomas on a Dennis Seidenberg [7] bomb from the high slot with a pile of bodies in front.

00:38.3: Big save by Thomas on a Wallin shot from the right point. The Canes have been dangerous in these final seconds and kept the ice tilted toward Boston’s end.

Big clear by Savard in the waning seconds, so now we’ll go to overtime.

The Canes and Bruins are tied at a 2-2 score at the end of three periods, so now we’ll go to OT in Game 3 at the RBC Center in Raleigh, NC.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/05/06/canes-holding-on-to-one-goal-lead-in-third-period/

URLs in this post:

[1] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[2] Dennis Wideman: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-wideman.htm

[3] Chuck Kobasew: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chuck-kobasew.htm

[4] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[5] Erik Cole: http://media.weei.com/hockey/erik-cole.htm

[6] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[7] Dennis Seidenberg: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[8] > Recchi’s first goal of playoffs ties it up in third" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/05/06/canes-holding-on-to-one-goal-lead-in-third-period/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.