- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Staal gives the Hurricanes an early lead in first period

Posted By Joe Haggerty On May 8, 2009 @ 7:43 pm In General | No Comments

RALEIGH, NC — Dropping the puck in the first period:

18:17: Sergei Samsonov in the penalty box with a hook. The B’s are putting good pressure on in the early going.

17:09: Phil Kessel [1] just hit the right post on a curl and drag move from the left sideboards during the PP.

16:43: David Krejci [2] just took a penalty after dumping Jussi Jokinen following a token swat at a puck that Tim Thomas [3] had covered up.

15:25: What a flurry of action. P.J. Axelsson poked a puck away from Joe Corvo during the power play and was denied on a strong glove by Cam Ward [4] on the backhand.

15:06: The Canes comes right back on their PP, attack the net and Eric Staal beats Tim Thomas with a blocker-side wrist shot.

13:43: The Bruins need to calm things down. Joni Pitkanen just knifed through the entire Boston defense and leveled a shot that Thomas was able to absorb. The B’s started out well, but resorted to again tossing the puck up the boards as the Canes dialed up the pressure following their score.

12:36: Good pad save by Thomas on a Ray Whitney bid from the slot.

9:33: Zdeno Chara [5] just hit another post for Boston when he blasted a shot from the left point that rang off the right post before bouncing back out to the sideboards.

It looks like there’s a lot of jawing going on down on the ice tonight. The Bruins are definitely trying to raise the emotional level. It’ll be interesting to see if it works.

8:06: Another Chara giveaway in his own end to Staal results in a Ray Whitney blast from the left faceoff circle. Thomas makes the save and holds for the faceoff.

6:35: A quick little give-and-go with Lucic and Kessel forces a save by Ward and a faceoff in Carolina’s end.

6:23: Erik Cole [6] to Whitney for a one-timer that Thomas somehow got a save on, and then Thomas makes another miraculous save on a Whitney forehand for the slot 20 seconds later.

3:01: All hell just broke lose on the Canes and Bruins over by the Boston bench. It appeared that Milan Lucic [7] and Dennis Seidenberg [8] tangled over by the Boston bench, and it quickly turned into a donnybrook with Marc Savard [9] and Eric Cole jumping into a team-wide brawl. Savard and Lucic are in the bin for Boston while Cole and Seidenberg are in for roughing as well.

1:38: Great glove save by Thomas on a bid from Cullen at the right faceoff circle off a feed by Pitkanen. Thomas has been solid in this first 20 minutes.

Canes outshot the Bruins 12-4 for the period, and the score would be a lot worse without Tim Thomas standing on his Vezina head over the first 20 minutes.

The Canes have taken a 1-0 lead after one full period of play during Game 4 at the RBC Center in Raleigh, North Carolina.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/05/08/bs-and-canes-scoreless-in-the-first-period-of-game-4/

URLs in this post:

[1] Phil Kessel: http://media.weei.com/hockey/phil-kessel.htm

[2] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[3] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[4] Cam Ward: http://media.weei.com/hockey/cam-ward.htm

[5] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[6] Erik Cole: http://media.weei.com/hockey/erik-cole.htm

[7] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[8] Dennis Seidenberg: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[9] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[10] > Staal gives the Hurricanes an early lead in first period" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/05/08/bs-and-canes-scoreless-in-the-first-period-of-game-4/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.