- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins storm the Canes by a 4-0 score in Game 5

Posted By Joe Haggerty On May 10, 2009 @ 9:29 pm In General | 12 Comments

There doesn’t appear to be a Zdeno Chara [1] sighting on the bench. Not good. Nevermind, Chara just returned to the end of the Boston bench.

19:12: Chara jumps back on the ice to huge cheers.

18:09: Big save by Tim Thomas [2] after a Shane Hnidy turnoever. Scott Walker [3] passed the puck back to Matt Cullen in the slot, but Thomas deflected the bid.

17:03: Shawn Thornton [4] just checked in with a beatdown of Tim Conboy at center ice. Maybe he thought that was Jokinen’s #38 rather than Conboy’s #38.

16:22: Pretty awesome sight. The Bruins are tossing all of their gold towels down into the penalty box with Conboy, Joni Pitkanen and Anton Babchuk all sitting in the visitor’s box. There’s about 20 gold towels in the sin bin now after one of the Canes players looked as if he spit on the towel and then threw it back into the stands.

14:37: Erik Cole [5] in the box for delay of game. More gold towels getting tossed in the box.

8:52: Great kick save by Tim Thomas on Joe Corvo.

7:39: Ballgame. Michael Ryder [6] lifts a shot from the slot that Ward is able to stop, but Lucic loads up the gun on the rebound and blasts away from the right faceoff dot. See you in Carolina.

7:07: Apparently Conboy didn’t have enough. He and Mark Stuart [7] just dropped the gloves, and again Stuart threw him to the ground amid a flurry of right hands.

3:04: Good brawl at the end between the B’s and the Canes. The hate is really starting to flow between the two squads. It included a shot to the face of Aaron Ward [8] when the Boston D-man hadn’t even dropped his gloves.

The BruinsĀ have beaten theĀ Hurricanes [9] by a 4-0 score in Game 5 at the TD Banknorth Garden [10].


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/05/10/bruins-lead-the-hurricanes-by-a-3-0-score-in-third/

URLs in this post:

[1] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[2] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[3] Scott Walker: http://media.weei.com/hockey/scott-walker.htm

[4] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[5] Erik Cole: http://media.weei.com/hockey/erik-cole.htm

[6] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[7] Mark Stuart: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-stuart.htm

[8] Aaron Ward: http://media.weei.com/hockey/aaron-ward.htm

[9] Hurricanes: http://media.weei.com/hockey/aaron-ward-hockey.htm

[10] TD Banknorth Garden: http://media.weei.com/basketball/td-banknorth-garden.htm

[11] > Bruins storm the Canes by a 4-0 score in Game 5" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/05/10/bruins-lead-the-hurricanes-by-a-3-0-score-in-third/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.