- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Seidenberg ties it up at 1-1 in the first period

Posted By Joe Haggerty On May 14, 2009 @ 8:12 pm In General | No Comments

19:40: Quick shot from Joni Pitkanen at the left point on Tim Thomas [1]. Glove save with some pushing and shoving afterward. The crowd is appropriately crazy tonight.

18:15: Couple of quick shots by Dennis Wideman [2] from the right point, and a nifty little curl-and-drag move by David Krejci [3] after he shook of a check behind the net. Krejci looks sharp tonight.

17:05: Solid defense by Aaron Ward [4] during a potential one-on-one between him and Eric Staal coming down the left side. Ward didn’t back off and Staal’s shot bounced off his right skate and away from danger.

14:57: Tuomo Ruutu with another tester from well beyond the left faceoff dot with Ryan Bayda bearing down on Tim Thomas. Tank made the save cleanly before Bayda could get to the cage. The Canes are pushing a constant flow of bodies at the Boston net in the early going. The early flow of this game has a Carolina advantage to it.

12:18: This place just went nut. Byron Bitz with his first career playoff goal. A Dennis Wideman blast from the high slot missed wide left of the net and then caromed back out in front. Krejci missed the puck as he went for it at the left post, but Bitz picked the puck clean out of the traffic and fired the shot into the open net. Bitz followed the goal with a Stanley Cup [5] primal roar that any Bruin would be proud of.

9:25: Scott Walker [6] yacking at Patrice Bergeron [7], Mark Recchi [8] or anybody else that will listen following a Tim Thomas cover-up for a whistle. He’s determined to play the bad guy in the series, but the Bruins aren’t listening – or more importantly, responding – at this point.

BTW, there was definitely a Brutus “The Barber” Beefcake sighting in the TD Banknorth Garden [9] press box tonight. He’s wearing his trademark white Underarmor T-Shirt and his arms are roughly the size of Kansas from end-to-end.

7:58: Hooking penalty on P.J. Axelsson for going after Eric Staal as he crashed into Tim Thomas. No call on Staal as he came crashing toward threand a hook for P.J.

6:01: The Canes tie it up with score in front of the net from the Ultimate Warrior, Rod Brind’Amour. With one second left on the Carolina PP, Dennis Seidenberg [10] wound up from the high slot and blasted away with Brind’Amour redirecting the puck in front of the net. Edit: Check that, Seidenberg got credit for the goal for his shot up top, but a good screen job from Brind’Amour in front.

3:59: Milan Lucic [11] just missed on the tip of a Dennis Wideman blast from the right point. The puck trickled just to the left of the net after Big Looch camped out in front.

3:08: Two minutes in the sin bin for Tuomo Ruutu for slashing. First PP for Boston.

1:45: Best bid of a disjointed PP came when Phil Kessel [12] worked the puck in from the point to the right faceoff circle and fired a shot at Cam Ward [13]. Ward made the initial stop, and Chuck Kobasew [14] had two good whacks at it in front of the net. The second shot hit Ward’s pads and then bounced right out past the left post. Nobody there to blast it home, though.

00:00: A hit on Marc Savard [15] there at the end that looked as if it hobbled the center a little bit. He bent over and then limped a bit as he skated off the ice.

The Bruins and Hurricanes [16] are tied at a a 1-1 score after one full period in the decisive Game 7 at the TD Banknorth Garden.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/05/14/bruins-and-hurricanes-are-scoreless-at-a-raucous-td-garden/

URLs in this post:

[1] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[2] Dennis Wideman: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-wideman.htm

[3] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[4] Aaron Ward: http://media.weei.com/hockey/aaron-ward.htm

[5] Stanley Cup: http://media.weei.com/hockey/stanley-cup.htm

[6] Scott Walker: http://media.weei.com/hockey/scott-walker.htm

[7] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[8] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[9] TD Banknorth Garden: http://media.weei.com/basketball/td-banknorth-garden.htm

[10] Dennis Seidenberg: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[11] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[12] Phil Kessel: http://media.weei.com/hockey/phil-kessel.htm

[13] Cam Ward: http://media.weei.com/hockey/cam-ward.htm

[14] Chuck Kobasew: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chuck-kobasew.htm

[15] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[16] Hurricanes: http://media.weei.com/hockey/aaron-ward-hockey.htm

[17] > Seidenberg ties it up at 1-1 in the first period" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/05/14/bruins-and-hurricanes-are-scoreless-at-a-raucous-td-garden/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[18]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.