- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Marc Savard set to play in Game 7, no Bruins lineup changes

Posted By Joe Haggerty On May 14, 2009 @ 12:01 pm In General | 1 Comment

Bruins center Marc Savard [1] isn’t going to let a knee injury stop him from skating in Game 7 against the Carolina Hurricanes [2] on Thursday night, and B’s head coach Claude Julien [3] said that his crafty pivot will be in the lineup. Savard suffered a knee-on-knee hit from Carolina winger Chad LaRose in the third period of Game 6, and exited the game early after Julien sent him to the dressing room.

Julien indicated on Thursday morning following the pre-game skate that the Bruins will skate the same lineup that took the ice in an impressive 4-2 victory over the Candy Canes on Tuesday night. That means Byron Bitz, who impressed with his blue collar work along the back wall with puck possession, will again skate with David Krejci [4] and Michael Ryder [5].

“We’ll have the same lineup tonight (as Game 6),” said Julien. “There shouldn’t be any changes.”

–Julien and his veteran players said that the most important key to success in the Game 7 setting is staying composed and keeping panic and chaos out of a game that can very easily spiral out of control.

The weight and pressure of season elimination can be a divisive influence that can pry a player out of their comfort zone and get a team out of their game plan — and Julien stressed it was important for his team to stick with the style of play that’s resulted in two straight wins leading up to Thursday night.

“It’s being composed. Being composed. You saw it in the game last night in Pittsburgh that they were able to come out and play their game and they were successful,” said Julien. “You’ve got to be composed. I thought even last year in Montreal in Game 7 during the first period in Montreal, we were the better team.

“But sometimes you need the breaks and then (the Canadiens) got another goal in the second to make it 2-0. Had we stayed probably a little more composed, we could have battled back and got ourselves back into the game. But we were a young team last year. You hope what the young guys learned last year was to handle the pressure situation of Game 7 much better.”

–B’s center Stephane Yelle is playing in his 12th career Game 7 tonight against the Carolina Hurricanes, which is tops among all active NHL [6] players and ranks him second in NHL [7] history with Glenn Anderson and Ken Daneyko. The key to success from a guy that’s been there nearly a dozen times:

“There’ll be chatter before the game like there always is, and if the young guys have questions then they’ll usually come and ask them,” said Yelle. “Sticking with the game plan and not panicking (is key). When you start panicking you tend to get away from what you should be doing, and usually you feel like there’s a ripple effect along the team and things turn to chaos. That’s when you lose sight of what you’re supposed to do.

“Different personalities will handle differently. I try to learn from my previous ones and go from there. My first year was Patty…Patty Roy and he had played in tons of them already. He was just a great leader and I followed him when I was younger being from Ottawa. I knew what he was all about. I just tried to watch him and see what he was doing (before Game 7).”

–Carolina winger Scott Walker [8] has taken on the role of ultimate villian after sucker-punching Aaron Ward [9] in the third period of Game 5 — and then subsequently skirting by with a simple $2500 slap of a fine — but said he’s not going to get rattled by the “Ulf Treatment” at the Garden on Thursday night.

“I played in the minors a lot and it gets rowdy in some of those barns, and obviously in Vancouver it was a lot similar to this. A little bit in the New Jersey it rowdy behind the bench, but you don’t really notice it that much. It’s such an important game in Game 7 that I don’t think the fans will affect the way they play or we play … or myself. It’s great for them that they’ve got something to yell and scream about, but I don’t think we’ll lose our focus or anything like that.”

–There seemed to be some indications out there that a potential Eastern Conference Finals Game 1 against the Pittsburgh Penguins [10] would be scheduled at the TD Banknorth Garden [11] on Sunday — likely Sunday afternoon. Stay tuned for that one because it could be another doubleheader if the Boston Celtics [12] series goes to seven games.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/05/14/marc-savard-set-to-play-in-game-7-no-bruins-lineup-changes/

URLs in this post:

[1] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[2] Carolina Hurricanes: http://media.weei.com/hockey/carolina-hurricanes.htm

[3] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[4] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[5] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[6] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[7] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl-hockey.htm

[8] Scott Walker: http://media.weei.com/hockey/scott-walker.htm

[9] Aaron Ward: http://media.weei.com/hockey/aaron-ward.htm

[10] Pittsburgh Penguins: http://media.weei.com/hockey/pittsburgh-penguins.htm

[11] TD Banknorth Garden: http://media.weei.com/basketball/td-banknorth-garden.htm

[12] Boston Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[13] > Marc Savard set to play in Game 7, no Bruins lineup changes" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/05/14/marc-savard-set-to-play-in-game-7-no-bruins-lineup-changes/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[14]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.