- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins sign Fata and Sabourin to one-year deals

Posted By Joe Haggerty On July 7, 2009 @ 6:53 pm In General | 3 Comments

The Boston Bruins [1] announced Tuesday afternoon that they’ve signed defenseman Drew Fata and goaltender Dany Sabourin to one-year free agent deals. Both players are expected to be organization depth players, but Sabourin could give rookie goaltender Tuukka Rask [2] some competition for the backup goaltender spot in training camp. The Sabourin signing also gives the Bruins some depth at the goaltending spot should either Tim Thomas [3] or Rask succumb to an injury next season.

The Bruins had only untested South Boston native Kevin Regan should anything dire happen during the year, and the NHL-tested Sabourin gives them another qualified body between the pipes. 

 The 26-year-old Fata split the 2008-09 season between two teams in the AHL and compiled 7 goals, 9 assists and 141 penalty minutes in 75 games. He has played eight games in the NHL [4] with the New York Islanders [5] and has 1-1-2 totals along with nine penalty minutes.

The 28-year-old Sabourin played in 19 games for the Pittsburgh Penguins [6] during the 2008-09 season and registered a 6-8-2 record, a 2.85 goals against average and an .898 save percentage for the Stanley Cup [7] Champion Pens. Sabourin was part of a midseason trade to the Edmonton Oilers [8] for goaltender Mathieu Garon, and was waived by Edmonton prior to appearing in a game. In 57 NHL [9] games, Sabourin is 18-25-4 with a 2.87 goals against average and an .898 save percentage.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/07/07/bruins-sign-fata-and-sabourin-to-one-year-deals/

URLs in this post:

[1] Boston Bruins: http://media.weei.com/hockey/boston-bruins.htm

[2] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[3] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[4] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[5] New York Islanders: http://media.weei.com/hockey/new-york-islanders.htm

[6] Pittsburgh Penguins: http://media.weei.com/hockey/pittsburgh-penguins.htm

[7] Stanley Cup: http://media.weei.com/hockey/stanley-cup.htm

[8] Edmonton Oilers: http://media.weei.com/hockey/edmonton-oilers.htm

[9] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl-hockey.htm

[10] > Bruins sign Fata and Sabourin to one-year deals" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/07/07/bruins-sign-fata-and-sabourin-to-one-year-deals/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.