- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Sounds of the game: Bruins vs. Flyers at Fenway

Posted By Mike Petraglia On July 15, 2009 @ 8:07 pm In General | No Comments

It was sunny and 80 on Wednesday afternoon at Fenway Park [1]. No one could see their breath when they spoke at the 30-minute gala news conference atop the first base dugout.

But while there’s always a chance for sunshine on Jan. 1 in Boston, the temperature is likely to be cut in half, and that’s being conservative, as the Bruins will host the Philadelphia Flyers [2] in the third annual NHL [3] “Winter Classic”.

The Bruins sent five players in their sweater tops, including Shawn Thornton [4], David Krejci [5], Patrice Bergeron [6], Aaron Ward [7] and Marco Sturm [8]. The Flyers sent three, including goalie and Rhode Island native Brian Boucher [9].

Here are the highlights – audio style – from Wednesday’s presser at Fenway.

NHL Commissioner Gary Bettman makes the announcement. [10]

Bruins owner Jeremy Jacobs underscores just how big this event has become [11].

Bruins Executive Vice President Charlie Jacobs said talking hockey on July 15 is awesome [12].

Charlie Jacobs said Boston fans deserve this honor [13].

Bruins center Patrice Bergeron said there’s always energy and emotion with the Flyers [14].

Rhode Island native and Red Sox fan Brian Boucher said he loves hockey at Fenway [15].

Boston Mayor Tom Menino on looking forward to this event [16].

Flyers defenseman Braydon Coburn said other NHL teams will be jealous [17].


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/07/15/sounds-of-the-game-bruins-vs-flyers-at-fenway/

URLs in this post:

[1] Fenway Park: http://media.weei.com/baseball/fenway-park.htm

[2] Philadelphia Flyers: http://media.weei.com/hockey/philadelphia-flyers.htm

[3] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[4] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[5] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[6] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[7] Aaron Ward: http://media.weei.com/hockey/aaron-ward.htm

[8] Marco Sturm: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marco-sturm.htm

[9] Brian Boucher: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brian-boucher.htm

[10] NHL Commissioner Gary Bettman makes the announcement. : http://bigbadblog.weei.com/?attachment_id=16668

[11] Bruins owner Jeremy Jacobs underscores just how big this event has become: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/?attachment_id=16669

[12] Bruins Executive Vice President Charlie Jacobs said talking hockey on July 15 is awesome: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/?attachment_id=16670

[13] Charlie Jacobs said Boston fans deserve this honor: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/?attachment_id=16671

[14] Bruins center Patrice Bergeron said there’s always energy and emotion with the Flyers: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/?attachment_id=16672

[15] Rhode Island native and Red Sox fan Brian Boucher said he loves hockey at Fenway: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/?attachment_id=16673

[16] Boston Mayor Tom Menino on looking forward to this event: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/?attachment_id=16674

[17] Flyers defenseman Braydon Coburn said other NHL teams will be jealous: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/?attachment_id=16675

[18] > Sounds of the game: Bruins vs. Flyers at Fenway" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/07/15/sounds-of-the-game-bruins-vs-flyers-at-fenway/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[19]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.