- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Hunwick signs two-year, $2.9 million deal with Boston Bruins

Posted By Joe Haggerty On July 20, 2009 @ 4:06 pm In General | 3 Comments

Boston Bruins [1] defenseman Matt Hunwick avoided a Friday arbitration date and signed a two-year deal worth $2.9 million, according to a hockey source, with the Boston Bruins on Monday afternoon. The pact comes with a $1.45 million cap hit for the next two seasons, and leave the B’s with less than $3 million under the cap next season.

 The 24-year-old defenseman was third on the B’s among defensemen with 27 points last season (6 goals, 21 assists) and had become a key member of the blueline corps by the end of his first full season in the NHL [2]. Hunwick also tied with LA Kings defenseman Drew Doughty for the NHL [3] lead among rookie defensemen with his 27 points in 53 games played during the 2008-09 hockey season.

Hunwick is one of few puck-moving defenseman currently gracing the B’s roster, so it was of paramount importance that Bruins GM Peter Chiarelli got the 24-year-old signed in plenty of time for a full, productive hockey season. After the seven-game loss to the Carolina Hurricanes [4] in the playoffs, Chiarelli pointed to the injuries to both Hunwick and Andrew Ference [5] as reasons why the team had issues breaking the puck out of their own zone during the series.

Hunwick ruptured his spleen after playing one playoff game against the Montreal Canadiens [6] last spring, but has recovered fully after having his spleen removed and losing close to 10 pounds immediately following the emergency surgery. Hunwick is back undertaking normal workouts in his native Michigan this summer, and is expected to be without restrictions when training camp begins in September. 

The 24-year-old native of Warren, Michigan was originally drafted by the Bruins in the seventh round (224th overall) in the 2004 NHL Entry Draft.  He made his NHL debut with the Bruins on November 10, 2007 against the Buffalo Sabres [7] and recorded his first career point on December 10, 2007 against the Toronto Maple Leafs [8]. He played in 13 games for Boston during the 2007-08 campaign and registered one assist.

Hunwick spent most of the 2007-2008 season with the Providence Bruins notching two goals and 21 assists in 55 regular season games. Prior to joining the Bruins, Hunwick played four years of collegiate hockey for the University of Michigan with 24-73=97 totals and 256 penalty minutes in 163 career games.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/07/20/hunwick-signs-two-year-deal-with-boston-bruins/

URLs in this post:

[1] Boston Bruins: http://media.weei.com/hockey/boston-bruins.htm

[2] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[3] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl-hockey.htm

[4] Carolina Hurricanes: http://media.weei.com/hockey/carolina-hurricanes.htm

[5] Andrew Ference: http://media.weei.com/hockey/andrew-ference.htm

[6] Montreal Canadiens: http://media.weei.com/hockey/montreal-canadiens.htm

[7] Buffalo Sabres: http://media.weei.com/hockey/buffalo-sabres.htm

[8] Toronto Maple Leafs: http://media.weei.com/hockey/toronto-maple-leafs.htm

[9] > Hunwick signs two-year, $2.9 million deal with Boston Bruins" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/07/20/hunwick-signs-two-year-deal-with-boston-bruins/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.