- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

First day of B’s training camp is in the books

Posted By Joe Haggerty On September 13, 2009 @ 6:55 pm In General | No Comments

As is the custom during Bruins training camp, the 54 camp invitees are broken into two different groups scheduled to skate in separate sessions during the camp days. Group A opened Sunday morning with a 90-minute skate and Group B following with a session that began at noontime. Here are the breakdowns of the players from Group A and Group B. Line pairing aren’t all that important at this point as Claude Julien [1] and staff will be mixing and matching a lot of different player combinations over the next two weeks.

As previously mentioned, David Krejci [2], Lane MacDermid, Jordan Knackstedt, Kevin Regan, Jordan Caron and Zach MacKelvie were among a group of players that skated early non-contact drills. Krejci is expected to join with Group B when he returns to the regular practices in the next few days after making an impressive recovery from right hip surgery.

“Somebody asked me about the condition of the team yesterday, and the guys are in really good shape,” said Claude Julien after the first day of training camp had concluded. “That bodes well. I think the second group today had better ice so they probably looked a little bit better. The first group the puck was jumping around a lot and they didn’t get the real flow in their drills, but we got the things done that we wanted accomplished.

The B’s will be on the Garden ice again bright and early on Monday morning at 10 a.m., and Group B will lead things off this time. 

Here’s a breakdown of Group A and Group B:

Group A
Forwards

Patrice Bergeron [3]
Zach Hamill
Drew Larman
Jeff LoVecchio
Milan Lucic [4]
Brad Marchand [5]
Kirk MacDonald
Tyler Randell
Mark Recchi [6]
Michael Ryder [7]
Max Sauve
Blake Wheeler [8]

Defensemen

Johnny Boychuk [9]
Ryan Button
Zdeno Chara [10]
Rob Kwiet
Derek Morris [11]
Jeff Penner
Mark Stuart [12]
Andy Wozniewski

Goalies

Adam Courchaine
Matt Dalton
Tim Thomas [13]

Group B Forwards

Jamie Arniel
Steve Begin
Byron Bitz
Chuck Kobasew [14]
Guillaume Lefebvre
Mikko Lehtonen
Matt Marquardt
Marc Savard [15]
Vladimir Sobotka
Marco Sturm [16]
Shawn Thornton [17]
Trent Whitfield
Jason Wilson

Defensemen

Andrew Bodnarchuk
Drew Fata
Andrew Ference [18]
Alain Goulet
Matt Hunwick
Zach McKelvie
Adam McQuaid
Dennis Wideman [19]

Goalies

Michael Hutchinson
Tuukka Rask [20]
Dany Sabourin


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/09/13/first-day-of-bs-training-camp-is-in-the-books/

URLs in this post:

[1] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[2] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[3] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[4] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[5] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[6] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[7] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[8] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[9] Johnny Boychuk: http://media.weei.com/hockey/johnny-boychuk.htm

[10] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[11] Derek Morris: http://media.weei.com/hockey/derek-morris.htm

[12] Mark Stuart: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-stuart.htm

[13] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[14] Chuck Kobasew: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chuck-kobasew.htm

[15] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[16] Marco Sturm: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marco-sturm.htm

[17] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[18] Andrew Ference: http://media.weei.com/hockey/andrew-ference.htm

[19] Dennis Wideman: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-wideman.htm

[20] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[21] > First day of B’s training camp is in the books" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/09/13/first-day-of-bs-training-camp-is-in-the-books/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[22]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.