- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Rask in net against Rangers in preseason opener

Posted By Joe Haggerty On September 15, 2009 @ 12:11 pm In General | No Comments

Bruins rookie goaltender Tuukka Rask [1] will get the nod for the entire game on Tuesday night against the New York Rangers [2] at Madison Square Garden in the B’s preseason opener, and 29-year-old veteran Dany Sabourin will get the start in goal against the Toronto Maple Leads on Wednesday night.

The two goaltenders are in a competition for the backup spot to goaltender Tim Thomas [3], and B’s coach Claude Julien [4] was anxious to get a look at both goaltenders. Rookie center Zach Hamill will also get a long look on the top line vs. the Rangers as he’ll get play between Blake Wheeler [5] and Marco Sturm [6], who is playing in his first game since wrenching his right knee against the Maple Leafs [7] on Dec. 18.

┬áThe other members of the B’s traveling party set to play against the Rags on Tuesday: Jamie Arniel, Byron Bitz, Chuck Kobasew [8], Mikko Lehtonen, Milan Lucic [9], Brad Marchand [10], Max Sauve, Vladmir Sobotka and Trent Whitfield at forward; Andrew Bodnarchuk, Johnny Boychuk [11], Zdeno Chara [12], Matt Hunwick, Adam McQuaid and Jeff Penner; goaltenders Rask and Sabourin.

“(Sturm) is in good shape and his knee is 100 percent, so I said why not get out of his system right away and a get his first game under his belt?” said B’s coach Claude Julien. “It’s a long camp and getting him in that first game will give us some more options and then we can see him more if we need to.”


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/09/15/rask-in-net-against-rangers-in-preseason-opener/

URLs in this post:

[1] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[2] New York Rangers: http://media.weei.com/hockey/new-york-rangers.htm

[3] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[4] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[5] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[6] Marco Sturm: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marco-sturm.htm

[7] Maple Leafs: http://media.weei.com/hockey/toronto-maple-leafs.htm

[8] Chuck Kobasew: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chuck-kobasew.htm

[9] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[10] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[11] Johnny Boychuk: http://media.weei.com/hockey/johnny-boychuk.htm

[12] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[13] > Rask in net against Rangers in preseason opener" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/09/15/rask-in-net-against-rangers-in-preseason-opener/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[14]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.