- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins set lineup for Maple Leafs preseason tilt

Posted By Joe Haggerty On September 16, 2009 @ 11:47 am In General | 4 Comments

Blake Wheeler [1] leads a Boston Bruins [2] traveling party for a Wednesday night preseason game against the Toronto Maple Leafs [3] following up on Tuesday night’s 2-1 win over the New York Rangers [4] at Madison Square Garden. Wheeler, Byron Bitz, Brad Marchand [5], Jamie Arniel and Vladimir Sobotka will play among the forward group for the second straight game, and both Matt Hunwick and Adam McQuaid will play for the second straight day.

The B’s players getting their first taste of preseason action include: Steve Begin, Patrice Bergeron [6], Drew Larman, Guillaume Lefebvre, Jeff LoVecchio, Michael Ryder [7] and Shawn Thornton [8] at forward, and Derek Morris [9], Mark Stuart [10], Dennis Wideman [11] and Any Wozniewski on defense. Dany Sabourin is expected to get the call between the pipes for the Bruins, and will play the whole game as Tuukka Rask [12] did Tuesday night against the Rangers.

“I think we saw a lot of good things from the younger players (against the Rangers),” said B’s coach Claude Julien [13]. “Of course Max Sauve had the game-winning goal, but more than that probably surpassed what we expected from him and played well. Tuukka played well between the pipes, and Brad Marchand played well. Zach Hamill made some plays and he continued what he started at the rookie camps.

“You could see the Penners and the Bodnarchuks, you could see they have a year of pro under their belts and they were able to handle the pressure of the forecheck a lot better.”


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/09/16/bruins-set-lineup-for-maple-leafs-preseason-tilt/

URLs in this post:

[1] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[2] Boston Bruins: http://media.weei.com/hockey/boston-bruins.htm

[3] Toronto Maple Leafs: http://media.weei.com/hockey/toronto-maple-leafs.htm

[4] New York Rangers: http://media.weei.com/hockey/new-york-rangers.htm

[5] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[6] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[7] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[8] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[9] Derek Morris: http://media.weei.com/hockey/derek-morris.htm

[10] Mark Stuart: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-stuart.htm

[11] Dennis Wideman: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-wideman.htm

[12] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[13] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[14] > Bruins set lineup for Maple Leafs preseason tilt" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/09/16/bruins-set-lineup-for-maple-leafs-preseason-tilt/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[15]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.