- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Krejci likely to play in B’s opener

Posted By Joe Haggerty On September 28, 2009 @ 2:32 pm In General | 1 Comment

With Zach Hamill and Brad Marchand [1] both dropped down to Providence, it’s expected that David Krejci [2] will be able to skate in Thursday night’s season-opener against the Washington Capitals [3]. Krejci was at his customary position centering a line of Blake Wheeler [4] and Michael Ryder [5], and B’s coach Claude Julien [6] took as a great sign when his young pivot took part in all drills at practice.

Both Marco Sturm [7] (groin) and Steve Begin (groin) also skated a full practice on Monday morning at the TD Garden, and neither player felt any health restrictions during the session.

“It’s a positive because nobody told me they had to get off [the ice] and they’re doing fine,” said Julien, referencing all three players battling assorted bumps and bruises. “They’re doing fine. Krejci is fine and he’s been practicing with us for close to a week now. The other two guys had small groin issues, and with a day off yesterday ‘€” and giving them a few days to heal before that ‘€” it’s going to help us Thursday.

“[Krejci] is day-to-day, and I’ll still put him at 50-50 for Thursday. We’ll see how he feels tomorrow. Today was a little more gritty for him at times with 3-on-3 down low. We made sure that guys finished their checks on him and made sure he’ll feel comfortable. I think a lot of it is feeling comfortable [mentally].”

‘€¢ Vladimir Sobotka couldn’t keep the smile from his face after learning that he had made the final roster after a training camp effort that improved with each passing day. The young Czech Republic forward pointed to a conversation he had with Julien that helped him relax and begin playing his game ‘€” a mix of puck skills and controlled aggression.

“I’m glad I could stay here and get this opportunity. I just have to keep it simple,” Sobotka said. “The last three games I felt less pressure on me and I didn’t put it on myself. I didn’t try to do too much on the ice and it helped me. I wanted to try to score two goals every game, you know, and it wasn’t working.

“[Julien] told me to play like I did two years ago and I’d be good. I try to play without minuses, the coaches don’t like that. Try to score some goals, keep it simple and play my game.”

‘€¢ Chris Bourque has made the Washington Capitals’ final roster after a competitive training camp, and he’ll be taking shifts at his hometown rink on Thursday night for the first time as an NHL [8] player.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/09/28/krejci-likely-to-play-in-bs-opener/

URLs in this post:

[1] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[2] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[3] Washington Capitals: http://media.weei.com/hockey/washington-capitals.htm

[4] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[5] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[6] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[7] Marco Sturm: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marco-sturm.htm

[8] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[9] > Krejci likely to play in B’s opener" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/09/28/krejci-likely-to-play-in-bs-opener/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.