- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Chara, Bruins are ready for Ovechkin’s Capitals

Posted By Joe Haggerty On October 1, 2009 @ 12:21 pm In General | 2 Comments

It’s clear by the circumstances surrounding the Bruins season opener against the Washington Capitals [1] that things have changed demonstrably for Boston in one season’s time. Big time.

The fact that the Black and Gold merit a national TV audience on Versus is one clue, and the marquee match-up against Alexander Ovechkin and the electric Caps is quite another. Milan Lucic [2] was among the excited grouping of B’s forwards anxious to get things going in the B’s dressing room Thursday morning, and seemed poised to make a statement about Boston’s worthiness in the Eastern Conference scheme of things with millions of hockey eyeballs ready to bear witness.

“Everyone seems ready to go, and is pretty anxious for the puck to drop. Everybody can feel it in the air, and I think we’re all pretty excited to get things going,” said Lucic. “I see that we’re on Versus, so it’s big across the US and we want to start the season off right.

“When is the last time the Bruins had a chance to start at home? We’re excited to do that. We’ve obviously set the bar high for ourselves and we’re focused on being one of the top teams in the East this year. We need to just focus on ourselves and what we can do to get there this year.”

–The B’s have a couple of new mantras written on the walls within the Bruins dressing room that gives some insight into their goals for the upcoming season. Above the doorway from the dressing room to the hallway reads the painted slogan “Knowing is Not Enough: We Must Apply. Willing is Not Enough: We Must Do.” and above the lockers of goaltenders Tim Thomas [3] and Tuukka Rask [4] reads a second painted sign that says: “We are What We Repeatedly Do. Excellence, Therefore, is Not an Act, But a Habit.”

–Confirmed with newly resigned B’s assistant general manager Jim Benning that Vladimir Sobotka does not have to clear through NHL [5] waivers to rejoin Boston this season. Since the 22-year-old Czech Republic forward has been signed for less than three full years, he is exempt from re-entry waivers. It’s apparently an either/or scenario with the three years of service time or maximum of 70 games played as the ceiling, and Sobotka doesn’t have to fit into both criteria.

Zdeno Chara [6] always gets excited for the defensive challenge presented by high-powered offenses and NHL [7] superstars like Alex Ovechkin [8], and the scoring threats don’t get any bigger than reigning Hart Trophy-winner Alexander the Great. The 32-year-old defenseman has learned not to get lulled into the one-on-one matchups against big time players like Ovechkin, but takes it as a personal challenge to bottle up the entire explosive Washington unit including Ovechkin, Mike Knuble, Alexander Semin and Mike Green [9] among others.

“We know that [the Caps] have a skilled team and we have to be on top of our game. But it’s a team game and we have to play that way,” said Chara. “If you’re watching just one guy, then everybody else is getting the room. You have to play against them together as a team, and we know that we have to be disciplined as a unit especially when that first unit is on the ice.

“It’s good to have that challenging competition. You have to be on your best game, otherwise they’ll take advantage. That always brings the best out of me and the team. It’s not just me against Ovie, it’s our line against their line on the ice.” 

Claude Julien [10] indicated that Steve Begin, Marco Sturm [11] and David Krejci [12] are all at full health for Thursday’s opener against the Caps and all will play — a scenario that became obvious when the B’s sent Vladimir Sobotka down to Providence on Wednesday afternoon. Begin will center a fouth line of Shawn Thornton [13] and Byron Bitz, Krejci will center his customary line with Blake Wheeler [14] and Michael Ryder [15], and Sturm will ride the right wing on Boston’s top line alongside Marc Savard [16] and Milan Lucic. No shock that any of the three are playing as they’ve been skating over the last three days leading up to Thursday afternoon.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/10/01/chara-bruins-are-ready-for-ovechkins-capitals/

URLs in this post:

[1] Washington Capitals: http://media.weei.com/hockey/washington-capitals.htm

[2] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[3] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[4] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[5] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[6] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[7] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl-hockey.htm

[8] Alex Ovechkin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/alex-ovechkin.htm

[9] Mike Green: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mike-green.htm

[10] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[11] Marco Sturm: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marco-sturm.htm

[12] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[13] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[14] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[15] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[16] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[17] > Chara, Bruins are ready for Ovechkin’s Capitals" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/10/01/chara-bruins-are-ready-for-ovechkins-capitals/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[18]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.