- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

ESPN The Magazine reveals the ‘Full Chara’

Posted By Joe Haggerty On October 7, 2009 @ 5:42 pm In General | 27 Comments

Great get by the always enjoyable and thoroughly educational Puck Daddy hockey blog [1] over at Yahoo! Sports on Wednesday afternoon, as they were able to unearth the “Full Chara” photos that will be a big part of ESPN The Magazine’s body issue this month.

Rumblings of the Zdeno Chara [2] photo shoot in his birthday suit filtered through the B’s dressing room days ago, but this is the first photographic evidence of the minimalist photo spread with the Bruins Captain.

Can’t imagine what kind of grief the Norris Trophy winner is in store for when the magazine hits mailboxes and bookshelves all across the country. A fan base like Montreal, that boos Chara each time he touches the puck, could get awfully creative.

 But at least it’s a tasteful nude rather than something with a series of Austin Powers-esque strategically-placed pieces of hockey equipment.

It’ll be interesting to see what noted art critic Shawn Thornton [3] has to say about “The Full Chara” when he gets a look-see at the sneak preview. To check out the full gallery of athletes chosen for the body issue — including Minnesota Vikings [4] running back Adrian Peterson [5],  Texas Rangers [6] slugger Nelson Cruz [7] and tennis player Serena Williams [8] – check it out at ESPN.com [9].


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/10/07/espn-the-magazine-reveals-the-full-chara/

URLs in this post:

[1] Puck Daddy hockey blog: http://sports.yahoo.com/nhl/blog/puck_daddy/post/Puck-Headlines-Naked-Chara-Hawks-shorthanded-f?urn=nhl,194603

[2] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[3] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[4] Minnesota Vikings: http://media.weei.com/football/minnesota-vikings.htm

[5] Adrian Peterson: http://media.weei.com/football/adrian-peterson-vikings.htm

[6] Texas Rangers: http://media.weei.com/baseball/texas-rangers.htm

[7] Nelson Cruz: http://media.weei.com/baseball/nelson-cruz.htm

[8] Serena Williams: http://media.weei.com/tennis/serena-williams.htm

[9] ESPN.com: http://sports.espn.go.com/espn/flash/zoomGallery?photoGalleryId=4535846&section=gen&promo=body

[10] > ESPN The Magazine reveals the ‘Full Chara’" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/10/07/espn-the-magazine-reveals-the-full-chara/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.